This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 29 Replies Latest reply: Sep 23, 2011 8:32 AM by 701851 RSS

Which is the best Oracle certification for a programmer

880615 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
I have been doing web development in java for about 2 years now. I already have a Bachelors of Science in Computer Science but I want to stay competitive and am considering an Oracle Certification. The problem is that I am having trouble deciding which one to pursue. I am trying to keep emerging technologies in mind and I know that cloud computing and mobile devices are taking over. But I still know that there are many other companies out there that aren't ready for all that. I have found certifications such as:
Oracle Certified Professional Java Programmer
Oracle Certified Professional, Java EE 5 Web Component Developer
Oracle Certified Professional, Java EE 5 Business Component Developer
Oracle Certified Professional, Java EE 5 Web Services Developer
Oracle Certified Master, Java EE 5 Enterprise Architect
Oracle Certified Expert,Java Platform, Enterprise Edition 6 JavaServer Pages and
Servlet Developer

Personally, I think that "Oracle Certified Master, Java EE 5 Enterprise Architect" looks the most attractive because it seems to wrap everything into one. But the prep time and costs for this are both pretty high. Does anyone have any good information or experience that can help me make a better decision?

Thanks a bunch!
  • 1. Re: Which is the best Oracle certification for a programmer
    maheshguruswamy Journeyer
    877612 wrote:
    Hi,