7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 13, 2011 11:08 AM by 884740 RSS

No acceptable C compiler found in $PATH

Hi guys
      I am new in linux, I have oracle linux 6 only in command promt mode.

I wanna to install gcc in my linux, but when I execute configure file (./configure) in gcc folder, it shows this error "No acceptable C compiler found in $PATH" :(

please help me how can I solve this ?
        • 1. Re: No acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
          LenzGrimmer
          I'm not sure what you are trying to accomplish. Are you trying to install gcc by compiling it from source? Then you might run into a "chicken and egg" problem here - you need a compiler in order to compile gcc :)

However, this should not be necessary, as gcc is included as a pre-compiled package in the distribution. "yum install gcc" should install it.
          • 2. Re: No acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
            actually I download gcc-4.6.1.tar.gz ,then extract it in/tmp dir and finally try to execute configure file, but it shows that error :(
            Also i tried "yum install gcc", but it reply no package gcc available :(

then what should i do ?

you know I wanna to install "make" and it also says same error "No acceptable C compiler found in $PATH", then I decide to install "gcc" and ... :(
            • 3. Re: No acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
              Catch 22
              The packages you need are available from the installation DVD, Oracle ULN subscription or public yum following the setup instructions on http://public-yum.oracle.com.
              I am new in linux, I have oracle linux 6 only in command promt mode.
              I suggest to reinstall the OS, but next time, customize the packages. There is a "customize now" ratio button, that will allow you to select a GUI desktop such as gnome or kde, and you can also include the development packages you need including gcc and others.