This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Sep 18, 2011 10:06 PM by user1987306 RSS

How to move or migrate whole directories between ASM disk groups?

user1987306 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello everyone!

I'm playing around with Oracle ASM and Oracle Database (11g R1), I'm a student. This is just for testing purposes.

Computer specifications are:
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 HT 3.00 Ghz.
RAM Memory: 2 GB.
Hard Disk: 250 GB
O.S.: Windows XP Professional Edition SP 2.

I installed Oracle ASM, I created an ASM disk group (+FRA), I installed Oracle Database and I created a testing database. The database is working properly over the ASM disk group. Days ago, I got help about the initialization parameters DB_CREATE_FILE_DEST, DB_CREATE_ONLINE_LOG_DEST_1, DB_CREATE_ONLINE_LOG_DEST_2 and DB_RECOVERY_FILE_DEST, based on their function, I created another 3 ASM disk groups (+FILES, LOG1, LOG2). Currently, the four initialization parameters are pointing to its corresponding ASM disk group. As you can deduce, at the installation moment of the Oracle Database I used the ASM disk group "+FRA" and inside it were created the directories: CONTROLFILE, DATAFILE, ONLINELOG, PARAMETERFILE, TEMPFILE and the SPFile.

My point is I wanna move or migrate the directories DATAFILE, PARAMETERFILE, TEMPFILE and the SPFile to "+FILES", ONLINELOG and CONTROLFILE to "+LOG1" and "+LOG2", this way, the ASM disk group "+FRA" will contain the Flash Recovery Area only. What is the procedure to do this?

Thanks in advance!
  • 1. Re: How to move or migrate whole directories between ASM disk groups?
    585179 Expert
    user1987306 wrote:
    Hello everyone!

My point is I wanna move or migrate the directories DATAFILE, PARAMETERFILE, TEMPFILE and the SPFile to "+FILES", ONLINELOG and CONTROLFILE to "+LOG1" and "+LOG2", this way, the ASM disk group "+FRA" will contain the Flash Recovery Area only. What is the procedure to do this?

Thanks in advance!
    Hi,