7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2011 11:34 PM by sybrand_b

database restore; database recover; Last step?

cayenne
      Ok, this is my first try with rman to restore and recover from tape.

My restore database finished successfully...no errors.
      My recover database finished successfully...no errors.

Now...what is my last step?

Do I shut down and open back up normally, or, do I need to do something like shut down, then open with reset logs?

I'm guessing a full database backup after this re-opening would be a good idea too, no?

Thank you,

cayenne
        • 1. Re: database restore; database recover; Last step?
          cayenne wrote:

Do I shut down and open back up normally, or, do I need to do something like shut down, then open with reset logs?

I'm guessing a full database backup after this re-opening would be a good idea too, no?

Thank you,

cayenne
          Normally after recovery you would need to open the database with open resetlogs and take full backup after the database open

Cheers
          • 2. Re: database restore; database recover; Last step?
            EdStevens
            cayenne wrote:

Thank you,

cayenne
            If there are no issues reported on either the restore or recover, go ahead and simply open the db. if still no issues reported then you are good to go. Depending on the circumstances, probably a good idea to take a fresh level 0 backup at that point. If issues are reported when trying to open the database, just work the issue.
            • 3. Re: database restore; database recover; Last step?
              a

Edited by: 887171 on Sep 30, 2011 1:22 PM
              • 4. Re: database restore; database recover; Last step?
                askraks
                Hi,

restore database;
                recover database;
                alter database open;

If you are doign incomplete recovery then oracle will ask for open the DB with resetlogs.

Kind Regards,
                Rakesh