This discussion is archived
2 Replies Latest reply: Oct 6, 2011 3:43 AM by 641486 RSS

MDB - how to force retry

Stupify Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am new to JMS and MDBs using Weblogic 9.2 and want to know how to handle errors while processing the message? Here is the behavior I would like to have:

1. Message comes in to Queue MsgQ
2. MDB's onMessage is triggered
3. MDB processes the message
4a) On Success -> MDB returns normally
4b) On backend connection error -> the message is returned to MsgQ for retry at a later point
4c) On processing error -> the message is added to ErrorQ and depending on the review I want to move the messages back to the MsgQ or throw them away

How would I go about setting this up? What would be better to use here, MDB or SpringFramework's MDP to get the above done?

Appreciate all comments, suggestions and information.
  • 1. Re: MDB - how to force retry
    RenévanWijk Oracle ACE
    "How would I go about setting this up? What would be better to use here, MDB or SpringFramework's MDP to get the above done?"

Message-driven beans are more integrated than Spring's MDPs. Note that MDP consumer are unmanaged in a WebLogic environment, i.e.,
    the listener thread is unmanaged. WebLogic commonj work managers to handle threading. In the case when using MDPs it is wise
    to let a work manager handle the threading - an example is given here: http://middlewaremagic.com/weblogic/?p=5569

To enable the steps you want, you can
    - Set up a normal JMS environment (JMS Server, Persistent store (if you want the message to be persisted), JMS Module (that contains
    a connection factory and two queues one normal and one when error occur)

- For the normal queue you can configure a delivery failure (the delivery failure, configuration tab (note that this is in 10 but 9.2 has probably something similar)).
    - In the delivery failure environment you can set the redelivery delay, redilivery limit and set the error destination