2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2011 8:37 AM by 889476

Custom Swing Component - Gaussian shaped JProgressBar

I've been using Java for a couple of years now, and I'd like to create a custom Swing component. In particular I want something like a "JProgressBar", with the following changes:

1. In place of a flat "setForeground" color, I'd like a rainbow spectrum, showing only the red range for low "setValue"s, and the whole spectrum for values close to "setMaximum";
      2. Instead of a rectangualar box, I'd like the progress "bar" to take the shape of a normal distribution curve;
      3. I'd like progress to be displayed by area under the curve, rather than by a simple linear scale along the x axis.

If anyone has already created such a component, or knows of one which has been created as part of an open source project, I'd be jolly grateful if they could point me to it.

Failing that, I have created a "class" (which extends "JPanel"), which runs from the command line to display a nice rainbow filled normal distribution curve, but I am stumped when it comes to integrating it with Swing.

In particular, when you use regular Swing Components in a "GridBagLayout", they size themselves to fit the layout. And when you change a parameter (like "setValue"), they redraw themselves with the new parameter without being explicitly told to do so.

I know there is material out there, and I should probably plough through it before posting, but if anyone here has a favourite tutorial/article, specifically addressing the issues of resising in a "GridBagLayout", and redrawing, I'd be grateful for any pointers.

Edited by: 886473 on 11-Nov-2011 01:12 - typo
        • 1. Re: Custom Swing Component - Gaussian shaped JProgressBar
          jduprez
          In particular, when you use regular Swing Components in a "GridBagLayout", they size themselves to fit the layout.