Forum Stats

  • 3,852,313 Users
  • 2,264,090 Discussions
  • 7,905,025 Comments

Discussions

HFM 11.1.1.3 'configure database' step fails, all other steps succeed.

user4146751
user4146751 Member Posts: 23 Blue Ribbon
edited Mar 8, 2010 2:25PM in Financial Consolidation
I have a three server environment, Essbase on linux 32bit, Shared Services,Workspace, Planning, EAS on linux 32bit, and Windows only products like REporting server, PMA, HSF. HFM. All of the services confiure except HFM configure database. I have tried everyoption I can, and the most significant error occurs when I use the 'Advanced Options' on the JDBC page. It fails with "Invalid fiels database connection link". Thoughthe udl files is found and tests ok.

Any thoughts? I am about t o removes all products and reinstall on the windows server.

Thanks,

Maz
Tagged:

Answers

  • 741513
    741513 Member Posts: 52
    Maz,

    Are you connecting to an Oracle DB? If so, did you install the Oracle client? Set up the tnsnames.ora file? Any other information you can provide from the configtool_err.log file you can provide will help.

    Luis Castillo
  • user4146751
    user4146751 Member Posts: 23 Blue Ribbon
    Luis,

    Yes, I have installed the client software, the tnsnames.ora works ( from dos prompt), the other products all connect from this server (HSF,Reports Server,PMA) Only the configure database portion of the Financial Management product does not work.

    configtool_err.log section follows;

    "(Mar 01, 2010, 09:34:35 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:34:35 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:34:35 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:34:35 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:36:18 AM), com.hyperion.cis.config.TNSParser, ERROR, Registry entry is not avaialble
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:36:18 AM), com.hyperion.cis.config.TNSParser, ERROR, Registry entry is not avaialble
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:36:20 AM), com.hyperion.config.wizard.impl.DbAdvancedOptionsWizardForm, ERROR, java.net.UnknownHostException: hypr1 : hypr1
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:36:48 AM), com.hyperion.cis.config.TNSParser, ERROR, Registry entry is not avaialble
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:36:48 AM), com.hyperion.cis.config.TNSParser, ERROR, Registry entry is not avaialble
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:36:50 AM), com.hyperion.config.wizard.impl.DbAdvancedOptionsWizardForm, ERROR, java.net.UnknownHostException: hypr1 : hypr1
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:37:42 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:37:42 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:37:42 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL
    (Mar 01, 2010, 09:37:42 AM), com.hyperion.hit.registry.DatabaseComponentImpl, ERROR, Host Name of the database could not be determined using the JDBC URL "


    Thanks for the assist,

    Maz
  • 630066
    630066 Member Posts: 35
    when you run the configuratio utility for HFM , you get the page where you specify the database details. you will see a tab called "Advanced" there. Click on it and it will let you know where the .udl file is located. you need to make sure that the .udl file communicates with the database. Generally its located in financial management folder inside the products folder in 11.1
  • user4146751
    user4146751 Member Posts: 23 Blue Ribbon
    Luis,

    I have selected 'ADANVCED' and the path to th eudl file is correct. We get a 'database connector link' field is invalid message and the advanced selection needs to be cancelled to complete the task (to 'FAILED'). When I try other udl files ( using DSN values) I get the same result. It would be helpful to see the correct format (syntax) of a oracle database udl file.

    Thanks,

    Maz
  • user8674669
    user8674669 Member Posts: 66
    Hi

    I am tryign to configure HFM but I am not getting the screen where I can enter DATABASE details.

    ITs giving me DCOM user screen directly when i go into config utility for HFM. :(

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Reg
  • user4146751
    user4146751 Member Posts: 23 Blue Ribbon
    Turns out that HFM may require that the database client software needs to be th esame version as the database ( 11.1.0 db, 11.1.0 client). I removed all Hyperion and Oracle products, installed 11.1.0 client software, installed HFM only (plus commonfiles) and it configured the first time!

    I was using 10.2.0 client software previously.


    Maz
  • user4146751
    user4146751 Member Posts: 23 Blue Ribbon
    use oracle client software version same as database version
This discussion has been closed.