• 2,264,244 Discussions
  • 7,905,405 Comments

Discussions

Dynamic Calc in HFM

SantoshRaj
SantoshRaj Member Posts: 8
edited Mar 22, 2010 9:43AM in Financial Consolidation
Hi ,
I am new to HFM and am trying to modify rules to be able to calculate Volume/day. I have created a new Balance type account "days"( Iscalc and IsConsol set to No) to store the number of days. I have loaded data for this member for Entity none and none custom. I am trying to reference this in the Sub Dynamic but its not getting any value for any intersection. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Sub Calculate()

If pov_value = "<Entity Currency>" and pov_entity <> "[None]" Then

HS.Exp "A#days = A#days .E#[None]"

End If

Sub Dynamic()

HS.Dynamic "A#Volperday = A#xxxxx1 / A#days "

End Sub

Thanks
San
Tagged:

Best Answer

• KostasN.
    KostasN. Member Posts: 547 Silver Badge
    Answer ✓
    The problem is that you base your dynamic calculation on a normal calculation. A#days is a calculated account. Dynamic calculations cannot use calculated accounts as input, only input accounts are allowed. Move the calculation to the normal calculation rule using HS.Exp instead of HS.Dynamic and also don't forget to change Volperday from Dynamic to balance in your metadata.

Answers

758188 Member Posts: 58
    Dear San,

I guess data for your 3 accounts must be on the same POV (Entity / Year / Period).

If you want your calculation works, you must input data on Entity [None] for account A#xxxxx1.

Regards,

Lionel.
  • Hi Lionel,

Thanks for your response. I am trying to copy "days" from entity none to the current POV in the Sub Calculate() to make sure that they both are on the same POV but for some reason it is not copying or I might be doing something in referencing that in Sub Dynamic().

Thanks in Advance
    San
  • I am not getting what exactly you are trying to do, but try commenting or removing the If statement.

Hope this is helpful
    Varun
  • KostasN.
    Answer ✓