• 3,852,536 Users
  • 2,264,112 Discussions
  • 7,905,096 Comments

Discussions

Blade 1000 Introductory Help?

807557 Member Posts: 35,835
edited Sep 6, 2009 11:42AM in Workstations General Discussion
Hi there,

I'm quite new to the rather exotic and different-looking world of Sun, and have been given a Blade 1000 workstation.

Comments/questions:
a) It's huge.
b) It's noisy - is this normal? Sounds like a bad fan...
c) During what I would describe as the "POST", it takes a VERY long time to send a video signal. Why?
d) Brings up some kind of console, white background. What do I do at this prompt? Is this hard-drive based or is this running from ROM?
e) If it is a ROM-based console, how do I go about installing an OS? I have Solaris 10 media somewhere and my understanding is it will work fine on this machine.
f) May be giving to a friend for use as a web server or something along those lines...is this a particularly power-hungry machine? I see a 9-amp rating but in theory that should be a MAXIMUM rating, not a typical rating.

and...g)
How do I use the PC emulation card? Is there software for Solaris which provides an interface for that card?

Thanks a bunch.

Comments

403074 Member Posts: 316
    Hello,

a) It's huge.
    Yes and a very heavy sturdy case.

b) It's noisy - is this normal? Sounds like a bad fan...
    During POST and until Solaris with a power-management driver is loaded, the fans run at full-speed. The fan speed is then decreased and the system becomes more silent.
    I would recommend to open the system after reading the User's Guide and decide if cleaning (removing the dust) is required. At that occasion you can review the installed options (memory modules, add-in boards, disks, etc.). The part-#s are on bar-code stickers, which can be used to locate the description in the Full Components List.

c) During what I would describe as the "POST", it takes a VERY long time to send a video signal. Why?