• 2,266,892 Discussions
  • 7,912,116 Comments

Discussions

12c database - empty container vs PDB

John-MK
John-MK Member Posts: 324 Blue Ribbon
edited Jul 29, 2014 12:28PM in Multitenant

Hello,

I have created 12.1.0.1 single instance with EMPTY CONTAINER Database on RHL6. Now, as soon as I started creating users, I am getting errors which tells. COMMONS USERS or LOCAL USERS in the PDB.

I have no experience on 12.c yet, and thats why I am confused here what to do. Because there is no such requirement for taking advantage of PDBs. I thought of upgrading myself but it seems its telling me I am 12c :-)

Now I am just thinking how to proceed: Options according to my weak 12c understanding are:

- Convert this empty container database back to NON-Container or Standard (at least I know the administration) ?, By the way is it possible to convert container database to non-container one?

- Create a Pluggable database in this container db?

My confusion is that this empty container database is created successfully, can't I use this itself as a independent database? I dont want to create PDB at the moment (may be in coming time).

I mean I chose the EMPTY CONTAINER DATABASE so that I do not need to convert NON-CONTAINER db to container and so on.

Please suggest me what you think, how should I proceed.

Bundle of thanks.

Kind regards

Tagged:
John-MK

Answers

• orawiss
    orawiss Member Posts: 2,760 Silver Trophy

I believe you are talking about common user , which a database user known in the container and all PDBs

"In a multitenant environment, a common user is a database user whose identity and password are known in the root and in every existing and future pluggable database (PDB). Common users can connect to the root and perform operations. If the common user has the appropriate privileges, then this user can perform operations in PDBs as well, such as granting privileges to local users."

references: Managing Security for Oracle Database Users