Forum Stats

  • 3,851,373 Users
  • 2,263,968 Discussions
  • 7,904,689 Comments

Discussions

EPM install/upgrade diff OS

RMarques
RMarques Member Posts: 200
edited Jan 6, 2016 7:39PM in EPM System Infrastructure

Hi,

Quick question regarding to install and upgrade EPM products.

I have a client with the current scenario:

EPM 11.1.2.3 with some products on Windows and some products on Linux. All machines have OHS and Foundation services.

They want to upgrade to 11.1.2.4.

One of the products needs to remains on 11.1.2.3.

Questions:

1) Can i not upgrade only 1 product?

2) Do I need OHS and Foundation services in every machine?

3) How to make all products from diff machine to identify only 1 URL? Is this the Config web server in the main machine only?

Are my assumptions correct?

1) All configs (configTool) will need to be done in every single machine

2) Needs to connect to a "previously configured HSS" for all servers

Thanks

Cheers,

Raf

Answers

  • JohnGoodwin
    JohnGoodwin Member Posts: 30,471 Blue Diamond
    edited Dec 15, 2015 9:19AM

    You will need to upgrade all products, you don't need to have ohs/foundation on all machines not sure why it has been configured like that, OHS will handle the proxying so you just connect through OHS.

    You need to config on all machines and connect to a previous configured shared services databases except on the first time config.

    John

  • _Sanjay_
    _Sanjay_ Member Posts: 394 Silver Badge
    edited Dec 15, 2015 2:34PM

    The mix match of version of same installation cannot be done.

    Questions:

    1) Can i not upgrade only 1 product?-

    a. No You cannot in same environment.

    2) Do I need OHS and Foundation services in every machine?

    a. No you don’t need foundation and OHS in ever machine

    3) How to make all products from diff machine to identify only 1 URL? Is this the Config web server in the main machine only?

    a. You need to run Web Conf only one server and you are fine

  • Anjum Ara
    Anjum Ara Member Posts: 816 Gold Badge
    edited Dec 16, 2015 12:28AM

    Hi

    For the remaining questions

    Are my assumptions correct?

    1) All configs (configTool) will need to be done in every single machine

    Yes, we install and configure on every server. So ConfitTool needs to be run on all servers.

    2) Needs to connect to a "previously configured HSS" for all servers

    First you always configure Foundation Server then rest of the servers. Each server asks for HSS details only the first time , this is to ensure that your Foundation Server (HSS Registry) knows all the servers that are in the environment. Yes, you need to choose "Previously Configured HSS" for rest of the servers.



    Thanks

    Anjum Ara

    Learning the Hyperion Ropes

    Please mark the answers appropriately Helpful or Correct .



  • RMarques
    RMarques Member Posts: 200
    edited Jan 5, 2016 2:03AM

    Thanks @JohnGoodwin and all of you guys (_Sanjay_, Anjum Ara), and sorry for the late response (got problems logging in). Helped a lot.

    Cheers,

    Rafael

  • _Sanjay_
    _Sanjay_ Member Posts: 394 Silver Badge
    edited Jan 6, 2016 7:39PM

    If you belief you were helped. Please mark the answer as helpful/Correct and close the discussion

This discussion has been closed.