Forum Stats

  • 3,837,520 Users
  • 2,262,266 Discussions
  • 7,900,310 Comments

Discussions

Connection loss between client machine and essbase

JanGLi
JanGLi Member Posts: 650 Bronze Badge
edited Jan 2, 2017 7:35AM in Planning and Budgeting

Hi,

Hyperion planning version 11.1.2.4.500

All components are one server.

Just for clarification and diagnose purpose i have few questions regarding database refresh and executing calculation script via planning.

1 - When i ran a rule from data form, planning sends that script to essbase and then essbase performs all the calculations.

-After executing the command if my network crashes will the script get stopped? will it get error out? because of no connectivity between client machine (from where i ran the rule) and server?

-Would Essbase have any effect?

2-Same as above but for essbase refresh from client machine using hyperion planning.

Regards

Best Answer

  • JohnGoodwin
    JohnGoodwin Member Posts: 30,471 Blue Diamond
    edited Jan 2, 2017 4:52AM Answer ✓

    If planning loses connectivity during a refresh then the refresh will no doubt fail, the connection is not between the client machine and Essbase, the connection is between the planning application server and the essbase server.

    If it is happening you should be more concerned about why the network is dropping between the planning and essbase servers and less about whether the rules will complete.

    Cheers

    John

Answers

  • JohnGoodwin
    JohnGoodwin Member Posts: 30,471 Blue Diamond
    edited Jan 2, 2017 4:52AM Answer ✓

    If planning loses connectivity during a refresh then the refresh will no doubt fail, the connection is not between the client machine and Essbase, the connection is between the planning application server and the essbase server.

    If it is happening you should be more concerned about why the network is dropping between the planning and essbase servers and less about whether the rules will complete.

    Cheers

    John

  • JanGLi
    JanGLi Member Posts: 650 Bronze Badge
    edited Jan 2, 2017 5:16AM

    I did perfomed a test. Where i refreshed my essbase via planning and intentionally closed my wifi.

    Later the refresh process was successful.


    As per the connection between the planning and essbase they both are on same server.

    Still they can have network issues?

    Regards

  • JohnGoodwin
    JohnGoodwin Member Posts: 30,471 Blue Diamond
    edited Jan 2, 2017 7:30AM

    As I said it is the planning application server that is executing the refresh against Essbase, if they are on the same server then no they shouldn't be network issues between planning and essbase.

    JanGLi
  • JanGLi
    JanGLi Member Posts: 650 Bronze Badge
    edited Jan 2, 2017 7:35AM

    Thanks for help.


    Regards

This discussion has been closed.