Forum Stats

  • 3,851,490 Users
  • 2,263,988 Discussions
  • 7,904,740 Comments

Discussions

OBIEE navigation filter behavior

user4109719
user4109719 Member Posts: 34 Red Ribbon

I want to have 2 dashboards.  The first one shows the monthly expenses for a selected organization code for a 12 month period.  The organization code is selected from the dashboard prompt which selects the organization equal to the selection.  The organization code is a series of characters.  Each organization can have sub-organizations.  A sub-organization starts with the same characters as the higher level org, with additional characters.  For example, an organization with the code 'EA' can have sub-orgs 'EAA', 'EAB', 'EAA1' etc.  Likewise 'EAA' can have a sub-orgs such as 'EAA1', 'EAAX' etc. 

When a user clicks on a particular month in the first dashboard, it navigates to another dashboard.  That dashboard shows the top ten sub-organizations ranked by expenses for a particular month.  The prompt on that dashboard selects organizations that begin with (or are like) the selected organization code, and the month.  The idea is it will show the top ten sub-orgs ranked by expenses, of the organization selected in the first dashboard.

What happens when it navigates to the "top ten" dashboard is that it initially only shows the organization equal to (not like) the organization from the first dashboard.  The Organization prompt on that page displays the value from the first dashboard.  However it doesn't seem to be using the prompt initially.  When the prompt "apply" button is clicked, then it shows the sub-orgs.  Is there any way to avoid having to click "apply"?  I tried having the first prompt set a presentation variable and the in the second dashboard's analysis, having the Organization filter set to "begins with" the same presentation variable, but that doesn't work.

Thanks.

Tagged:

Best Answer

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,675 Blue Diamond
    edited Apr 14, 2017 5:24PM Answer ✓

    Hi,

    The way you describe your need and issue it sounds more like a (data) model issue.

    You say you have organizations and suborganizations, the relationship is they start with the same set of characters.

    In a ideal model organizations and suborganizations would be 2 different column and the "same set of characters" rule would not need to be used as the relationship is defined by the data source directly. If not all organizations have one or many suborganizations it's just a ragged hierarchy, but still modelled in the right way defining the various levels.

    So with a right model your need would work by itself without having to do anything nor clicking on the apply button of the prompt.

    Is you organization and suborganization a single and same column? Can you model it correctly respecting the levels of the hierarchy?

Answers

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,675 Blue Diamond
    edited Apr 14, 2017 5:24PM Answer ✓

    Hi,

    The way you describe your need and issue it sounds more like a (data) model issue.

    You say you have organizations and suborganizations, the relationship is they start with the same set of characters.

    In a ideal model organizations and suborganizations would be 2 different column and the "same set of characters" rule would not need to be used as the relationship is defined by the data source directly. If not all organizations have one or many suborganizations it's just a ragged hierarchy, but still modelled in the right way defining the various levels.

    So with a right model your need would work by itself without having to do anything nor clicking on the apply button of the prompt.

    Is you organization and suborganization a single and same column? Can you model it correctly respecting the levels of the hierarchy?

  • Venkata Yaswanth Ramisetty
    Venkata Yaswanth Ramisetty Member Posts: 56
    edited Apr 18, 2017 11:44AM

    Hi,

    It will be easy if you have hierarchy based Organisation table. First dashboard will hold the Org level 0 data. In the next dashboard, you can have the org level 1 data by having a filter "Org level 0 is as prompted".

    Hope this helps.

    Thanks,

    Yaswanth

    user4109719
  • user4109719
    user4109719 Member Posts: 34 Red Ribbon
    edited Apr 27, 2017 11:54AM

    I'm going to create a table with the org and the immediate parent org for each org.  So then it will prompt on the parent org. 

    Thanks.

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,675 Blue Diamond
    edited Apr 27, 2017 12:57PM

    Great decision

    Dimensions is really something making the difference in OBIEE and the analysis you can do, and I'm sure the benefits of this dimensions (with the 2 levels) will easily compensate the extra work now to create it.

This discussion has been closed.