Forum Stats

• 3,854,620 Users
  • 2,264,392 Discussions
  • 7,905,743 Comments

Discussions

How to set my Contains index to ignore operator sign when searching?

DannyS-Oracle
DannyS-Oracle Member Posts: 165
edited Feb 28, 2018 1:42PM in Text

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in Oracle Text, please bear with me if I asked simple questions I have tried reading the Docs, but there is too much information to digest, and not straightforward enough to solve my problem.

I have a Context index, and I have set its lexer to identify '-' (hyphen) as a printjoint. In addition, I have marked '#' (hashtag) as a startjoin. But when I am searching using this query:

select *from   TABLE_NAMEwhere  contains(MULTI_SEARCH_COL, '#tag-name-30',1)>0

It does not return any result, even though I have one record which has '#tag-name-30' keyword included in its content. If I am using the escape character {}, it works:

select *from   TABLE_NAMEwhere  contains(MULTI_SEARCH_COL, '{#tag-name-30}',1)>0

returning 1 result.

My question is, is there a way to configure my index, such that the above pattern can be detected by default without using the escape operator? I am trying to expose a search field to my users, which will query items to the DB using Oracle Text, and I think my users should not need to learn about query operators to use it.

FYI, I am using OracleDB v12. Any feedback will be appreciated, thank you in advance!

Tagged:

Best Answer

• Gaz in Oz
    Gaz in Oz Member Posts: 3,785 Bronze Crown
    edited Feb 15, 2018 1:46AM Answer ✓

Using {} escapes ALL the characters between the curly brackets.

If you want to always escape everything that users search on, do it as part of you app...

User puts in '#the-string' and you modify the variable by adding curly brackets to the string and pass it out to your query you fire off to the db, so db gets'{#the-string}'.

No need to mess with the "current" index you have doing that...