Forum Stats

  • 3,838,807 Users
  • 2,262,400 Discussions
  • 7,900,759 Comments

Discussions

HFM EPMA 11.1.2.3.500.17

Liliya B
Liliya B Member Posts: 90 Blue Ribbon
edited Jun 5, 2018 12:31PM in Financial Consolidation

Hi,

Suddenly some users/admins are not able to open HFM application. (No problems to login to Workspace, Planning apps)

No changes were applied on the application side, but we did have a massive power outage.

Some users can login sometimes.

The error message that  we get is below (this pops up after about 3 minutes wait)

What could it be?

Thanks

Untitled.png

Tagged:
SureshM-Oracle

Answers

  • Chandra Bhojan-Oracle
    Chandra Bhojan-Oracle Posts: 198 Employee
    edited Jun 4, 2018 11:20AM

    It looks like a corruption in the User Preferences. You can try any of the below.

    1. Change Preference

    a. Ask the user who got the problem to login workspace

    b. Go to File / Preferences / Consolidation

    c. Select the Application from the drop down.

    d. Select the option "Use Document Manager as Default Page" and save the preference

    e. Log off and login back to the workspace and try open the application. They should be able to open the Apps

    2. If the Step 1 did not help, try below.

    a. Connect to the HFM repository in your RDBMS.

    b. Execute the query below to see if there any rows that reference the user in the user preference table :

    Select * FROM %appname%_USERPARAMS WHERE Username=%UserName%

    c. Replace the %appname% with the HFM application name and %UserName% with relevant user name(s).

    d. If there are rows returned by the query in Step2, BACKUP table %appname%_USERPARAMS.

    Execute the delete query:

    delete FROM %appname%__USERPARAMS WHERE Username=%UserName%

    e. Commit the SQL.

    Ask the user to try login again and check of the Apps are opening

    Liliya B
  • SureshM-Oracle
    SureshM-Oracle Member Posts: 407 Employee
    edited Jun 4, 2018 12:06PM

    Generally speaking, such error occurs due to timeout issue. However in your case, this error occurred intermittently and also for few users.

    You can try the above mentioned approach and I guess that should help to fix the issue.

    If incase error still appears even after performing those steps, then go ahead and try to increase the timeout. You can refer to few published articles on the same:

    HFM Error "A Connection to the server has failed. (Status=503)" When Executing Tasks Taking More Than 5 Minutes to Complete (Doc ID 1942997.1)

    Hyperion Financial Management (HFM) Error "A Connection To The Server Has Failed. (Status=503)" When Performing Any Tasks Taking More Than 5 Minutes to Complete (Doc ID 1516598.1)

    Liliya B
  • Liliya B
    Liliya B Member Posts: 90 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 4, 2018 12:12PM

    Thanks,

    I tried to do it for my user, but unfortunately when trying to open File / Preferences / Consolidation, it hangs.

    We went over HFM logs and noticed plenty messages as below:

    pastedImage_0.png

    Taking a look  on CPU and Memory usage. When user tries to load the application CPU spikes to 100% memory usage does not change.

    Thanks

  • Liliya B
    Liliya B Member Posts: 90 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 4, 2018 12:14PM

    Suresh, Thanks, yes, we followed this document, unfortunately it did not help.

  • Chandra Bhojan-Oracle
    Chandra Bhojan-Oracle Posts: 198 Employee
    edited Jun 4, 2018 12:18PM

    Please try the step 2 if the step 1 did not help.

    If you could get some down time, please stop HFM Services and Kill the below processes from Task Manager.

    HSVDataSource.exe, HSXServer.exe, HSXService.exe and CASSecurity.exe

    Do IISReset from HFM Web Server

    Start the Service and check if that works.

    If you still see the issue, please open an SR with Oracle support and let me know the SR#.

    Thanks,

    Chandra

    Liliya B
  • TechWUB
    TechWUB Member Posts: 96
    edited Jun 5, 2018 12:07AM

    Check the DB Connection/Table Space , is HFM only the component on the server?

    What does the logs says?

  • SureshM-Oracle
    SureshM-Oracle Member Posts: 407 Employee
    edited Jun 5, 2018 5:08AM

    Are you facing this issue only for one application or did you check with other applications too?

  • Liliya B
    Liliya B Member Posts: 90 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 5, 2018 12:31PM

    It was one application only.

    The issue was resolved by restoring the application from the backup of a day before the power outage. (It is a Dev environment, so we could afford doing it without loosing data).

    Thank you all for your help

    SureshM-Oracle
This discussion has been closed.