• 2,260,682 Discussions
  • 7,897,041 Comments

Discussions

Help for rule design to replace VLOOKUP

Kiran_
Kiran_ Member Posts: 81 Red Ribbon
edited Jun 7, 2019 11:31AM in Planning and Budgeting

Hello everyone,

I am currently implementing EPBCS at a professional services firm to replace their existing Excel heavy solution. Given that I am new to EPBCS, I would like some help to design rules that are similar to VLOOKUPS in Excel. Here is an example:

FTE % (Driver input by users) * Average Office Level Hours (this would be the data I would need to retrieve via VLOOKUP) to get Standard Hours of an employee

How should I go about this?

Thanks in advance,
Kiran

Tagged:
Cord234

Answers

• Pete N
    Pete N Member Posts: 77 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 4, 2019 6:40PM

Ah - I actually just posted a response in your other thread.

Basically - Load the data for Average_Office_Level_Hours to a generic member (ie: No_CostCentre, No_Entity, No_Service_Speciality, No_client, No_Employee etc). If you have got differences between them (ie different countries have different rates) don't use the "No_" member and instead load directly to the member.

Then use a cross dimensional operator "->" in the formula to bridge the dimensions. Essbase natively knows 'where' it is in the outline as it's calculating, so everything is a relative reference.

Net_Hours = FTE_% * Average_Office_Level_Hours->No_CostCentre->No_Entity->No_Service_Speciality->No_client->No_Employee;

That should get you going. Note: There is a myriad of 'other' things that you'll need to think about in order for this to be always work and be successful (block creation, calculation order etc). If this is a single change that you're trying to do for reporting on a build already complete, no worries, but if this the start of a 'bigger' change I'd recommend reaching out to some external help.

Cord234Kiran_
  • Kiran_
    edited Jun 6, 2019 12:43PM