Forum Stats

  • 3,817,447 Users
  • 2,259,334 Discussions
  • 7,893,776 Comments

Discussions

EPMA reconfigure in windows 2012

User_ABYEK
User_ABYEK Member Posts: 12 Red Ribbon
edited Jul 11, 2019 8:23AM in EPM System Infrastructure

Hi All,

We have Hyperion foundation, essbase & required dbs are installed in linux and only EPMA is installed in Windows 2008. Can anyone help me the high level steps to install/configure epma in the newly build windows 2012 server?

Oracle provided documents are very vague. any help other than oracle provided docs are much helpful.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rajesh

Tagged:

Answers

  • Madhusudhan. M
    Madhusudhan. M Business Analyst Member Posts: 1,904 Silver Trophy
    edited Jul 1, 2019 11:07PM
    We have Hyperion foundation, essbase & required dbs are installed in linux and only EPMA is installed in Windows 2008. Can anyone help me the high level steps to install/configure epma in the newly build windows 2012 server?

    you can just install epma and configure windows server as you did in Windows 2008 server, where you are expecting new ??

    Thanks,

    Mady

  • User_ABYEK
    User_ABYEK Member Posts: 12 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 2, 2019 9:03AM

    are there anything else need to be done apart from Install and configure? like host name changes in foundation server or essbase server or installing new pre-requisites etc..

  • Madhusudhan. M
    Madhusudhan. M Business Analyst Member Posts: 1,904 Silver Trophy
    edited Jul 2, 2019 11:45PM

    No need to anything specifically on Windows server, you can install and configure like how you did on windows 2008 server.

    Thanks,

    Mady

  • User_4NU9S
    User_4NU9S Member Posts: 471 Employee
    edited Jul 9, 2019 10:50AM

    Oracle document is not vague , and you should be following that .  What you doing here is a doing a installation on mix flavor of servers , there is a dedicated section in oracle documentation to cover this scenario .  The documentation assumes that the person reading it has some knowledge on the epm administration and infra. 

  • iArchSolutions-Joe
    iArchSolutions-Joe Member Posts: 133 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 11, 2019 8:23AM

    Hi @3532261 (Rajesh) -

    The location of the Oracle database back end for EPMA or any other EPM component is platform agnostic - so you can perform a mixed mode installation without any issues.  The biggest gotcha when configuring EPMA or any other EPM product against an Oracle backend is the oracle client.  Most of the applications use the Oracle JDBC Thin driver however some like EPMA Dimension server uses an oracle client.  When you run the installation on the Windows server for EPMA, a good practice is to install the oracle Dtabase 32 and 64 bit clients with that server.  This will lay down an Oracle 11g client which allows connectivity to your Oracle backend without issue.  No need play mourned with installing a new oracle client unless that's a mandate.

    When you go to configure EPMA Dimension server, it will auto configure the tnsnames.ora file required on the EPMA box itself with the values you put into the configTool.bat screen.  Keep in mind as you configure EPMA or anything else, if you have Oracle RAC you might need to use a different SID/Service Name or possibly at times a custom JDBC URL. (especially if your Oracle DB back end is SSL enabled).

    Those re really the only two tricks.  The 11.1.2.4 installer lays down the appropriate IIS/ASP framework if it's not already there.  Actually a good tip is to always run the EPM installTool.bat using the right click "run as administrator" option.  Same as when you run the configTool.bat.

    Hope this information helps!  Feel free to reach out if you have any more questions!!!

    --Joe

    Here are a couple of the screens to watch out for on the Installation and config screens for Oracle DB usage.  This case is Windows 2012 Server or the EPM stack and Oracle DB 12c for on OEL for the database tier:

    Run the installTool.bat as Admin:

    imagepastedImage_1.jpg

    Select the Oracle DB clients:

    imagepastedImage_2.jpg

    Run the ConfigTool.bat as admin:

    imagepastedImage_5.jpg

    Confirm your DB options, etc..  ensure you have specific tablespaces listed if that's required for your DB.

    imagepastedImage_6.png