Forum Stats

  • 3,782,250 Users
  • 2,254,623 Discussions
  • 7,880,018 Comments

Discussions

Does Latest BIOS support 5600 Cpu's on X4270 M1

4063717
4063717 Member Posts: 27
edited Nov 28, 2019 7:45PM in Oracle x86 Servers

hello.

I have purchased an old X4270 M1 server for a hobby project.

An Ebay purchase, but was told to be working.

I can login to ILOM and see no faults with the unit, but can not get it to show a BIOS boot screen when powered on. it never gets a solid green power light.

I have check all the hardware and it looks great. but in doing so, found Xeon 5650's in it. all the Docs say this server only supports 5500 cpu's.

did a later BIOS update add support for the 5650's?

or did someone try to upgrade it, fail and just flog it off?

any help would be appreciated.

the SP says no P0,P1 fault. it says ok....

also, could the onboard display be disabled/ faulty?

current ILOM version is 3.0.6.10.

ClaudiuO-Oracle4063717
«134

Answers

  • ClaudiuO-Oracle
    ClaudiuO-Oracle Member Posts: 49 Employee
    edited Aug 19, 2019 2:48AM

    Hello 4063717,

    Welcome to the community! Thank you for your post. May I also suggest you change your display name from the default to something more user friendly. See details here: https://community.oracle.com/docs/DOC-1022508

    Regarding your issue, that is an interesting story, the only CPU's certified to be installed on the Sun Fire X4270 server as per Oracle System Handbook (https://support.oracle.com/handbook_private/Systems/SunFireX4270/components.html#CPUModule ) are:

    2.93GHz Intel Quad-Core Xeon X5570, 8MB, 95W

    2.80GHz Intel Quad-Core Xeon X5560, 8MB, 95W

    2.53GHz Intel Quad-Core Xeon E5540, 8MB, 80W

    2.26GHz Intel Quad-Core Xeon L5520, 8MB, 60W

    2.26GHz Intel Quad-Core Xeon E5520, 8MB, 80W

    Therefor the Xeon 5650 is not on the list.

    The firmware upgrade won't help here, you could try to upgrade to the latest available: Patch 28398445: X4170 SW 2.8.1 - ILOM AND BIOS which contains Oracle ILOM 3.2.11.20.b and BIOS 07.06.03.20 but I don't think it will help.

    The Xeon X56** series is available for the M2 version of Sun Fire X4*70.

    Out of curiosity can you please provide me the following outputs from SP?

    -> show /SYS

    -> show /SYS//MB/P0

    -> show /SYS//MB/P1

    Regarding your last question (also, could the onboard display be disabled/ faulty?) you can monitor the server boot process using the serial console or the Java Remote console (start /SP/console after powering on the system with start /SYS or launch Redirection from ILOM web interface, Remote control tab)

    I hope this helps.

    Best regards,

    Claudiu

    MOSC Community Moderator

    4063717
  • 4063717
    4063717 Member Posts: 27
    edited Aug 19, 2019 3:11AM

    well ,apart for all the targets at the top and commands at the bottom, the outputs are as follows.

    show /SYS gave

    Properties:

            type = Host System

            ipmi_name = /SYS

            product_name = SUN FIRE X4270 SERVER

            product_part_number = 602-4665-02

            product_serial_number = 0921XF700C

            product_manufacturer = SUN MICROSYSTEMS

            fault_state = OK

            clear_fault_action = (none)

            power_state = Off

    show /SYS/MB/P0 gave

    Properties:

            type = Host Processor

            ipmi_name = MB/P0

            fault_state = OK

            clear_fault_action = (none)

    and show /SYS/MB/P1 gave

    Properties:

            type = Host Processor

            ipmi_name = MB/P1

            fault_state = OK

            clear_fault_action = (none)

    when i said i checked the hardware, i meant i removed, cleaned, reseated and added new thermal paste the the CPU's. they are marked 5650's

    but when i type start /SYS, i get the fast flash of power led, but no image on my screen.

    ClaudiuO-Oracle
  • ClaudiuO-Oracle
    ClaudiuO-Oracle Member Posts: 49 Employee
    edited Aug 19, 2019 4:19AM

    Hello 4063717,

    The server was originally shipped with X5570 CPU's which means that someone at some point in time has tried to perform an upgrade, to make it more complicated Sun/Oracle never sold this type of CPU Intel Xeon X5650 in X64 systems as per my findings, so we don't have any experience if this would actually work or not in a certified configuration.

    The show /SYS/MB/Px output should look like this:

    Properties:

            type = Host Processor

            ipmi_name = MB/P0

            fru_name = Intel(R) Xeon (R) CPU           X5650 @ 2.66GHz

            fru_version = **

            fru_part_number = ****

            fault_state = OK

            clear_fault_action = (none)

    The 4170/4270 architecture is based on Intel Tylersburg-EP Platform supporting Nehalem-EP Processor while 4170M2/4270M2 introduced the Intel’s Westmere-EP CPU

    I've seen a lot of similar servers on eBay with X56** series and they all seem custom configured systems.

    Have you tried using the serial console or the java remote console instead of the VGA port to see the boot process?

    Best regards,

    Claudiu

    4063717
  • 4063717
    4063717 Member Posts: 27
    edited Aug 19, 2019 6:31AM

    could the "fru" lines be part of a later ILOM firmware?

    i don't have a serial cable, but will look into buying/making one, so i haven't tried watching the boot process that way. (wouldn't that be so slow? or is it a text based boot sequence?)

    however, i have tried to bring up ILOM via web browser in order to try that, but all i get is:

    Access Error


    Site or Page Not Found

    Cannot open URL

    however, the web address line has "home.asp" after the IP address, so it has found the server, just not the ILOM page.

    i'm wondering if i have a corrupt BIOS/ILOM....

  • ClaudiuO-Oracle
    ClaudiuO-Oracle Member Posts: 49 Employee
    edited Aug 19, 2019 7:18AM

    Hello 4063717,

    No, the fru lines should be visible even on the current firmware.

    You don't necessarily need a serial cable unless you want to see the boot sequence of the SP (called U-boot). When you are connected to the SP via network management port, you start the system (start /SYS) and after that type start /SP/console so you can watch the boot sequence (POST) over the serial console, if you want to see it on graphical mode then you need to start it from web interface (enter ip of the ILOM or hostname) in a web browser making sure that the http/https services are enabled in ILOM (/SP/services/http(s)) and launch the remote redirection from Remote control tab.

    There is a small chance to have a corrupted / partially flashed firmware.

    Can you share please the following outputs:

    -> version

    -> show /SYS/MB/BIOS

    Best regards,

    Claudiu

    4063717
  • 4063717
    4063717 Member Posts: 27
    edited Aug 19, 2019 9:05AM

    version gives:

    SP firmware 3.0.6.10

    SP firmware build number: 48729

    SP firmware date: Mon Sep 28 21:20:33 EDT 2009

    SP filesystem version: 0.1.22

    and show /SYS/MB/BIOS gives:

    Properties:

            type = BIOS

            ipmi_name = MB/BIOS

    show /SP/services/http gives:

    Properties:

            port = 80

            secureredirect = disabled

            servicestate = enabled

    yet i get that "access error" i said before. when going to my server via web browser.

    however, for the first time... (must have typed it quick enough)

    when i ran start /SYS, then Start /SP/console i got DIMM slot info pop up. then it hangs.

    i really feel i need to buy a couple of 5570's and try again. I've found them for $24 on ebay for the pair. out of China though...

  • ClaudiuO-Oracle
    ClaudiuO-Oracle Member Posts: 49 Employee
    edited Aug 19, 2019 9:15AM

    Hello 4063717,

    Show /SYS/MB/BIOS should have sown the BIOS version, example:

    /SYS/MB/BIOS

        Targets:

        Properties:

            type = BIOS

            ipmi_name = MB/BIOS

            fru_name = SYSTEM BIOS

            fru_description = SYSTEM BIOS

            fru_manufacturer = AMERICAN MEGATRENDS

            fru_version = 07060315

            fru_part_number = AMIBIOS8

    in your case it is not, so at this stage I would go for a firmware reflash (same firmware version) or upgrade to the latest revision as the fru information is not displayed properly on multiple targets (see CPU as well)

    Http is indeed enabled, what about https?

    About the POST hanging at the DIMM initialization / count you could strip the system to minimum configuration (one DIMM per each CPU as per DIMM population rules), this is an indicator that something is wrong (CPU has the memory controller embedded in it) in this case the memory could not initialize properly due to the incorrect CPU's installed, poorly seated or defect DIMM's etc.

    I don't know what to say about the products bought from ebay, there is a risk for each purchase.

    I hope the above helps.

    Best regards,

    Claudiu

    40637174063717
  • 4063717
    4063717 Member Posts: 27
    edited Aug 19, 2019 9:31AM

    scratch that. just bought 2 from Victoria. so i can test further in a few days.

    ClaudiuO-Oracle
  • ClaudiuO-Oracle
    ClaudiuO-Oracle Member Posts: 49 Employee
    edited Aug 19, 2019 9:37AM

    Hello 4063717,

    Let me know how it goes.

    Best regards,

    Claudiu

  • 4063717
    4063717 Member Posts: 27
    edited Aug 19, 2019 9:40AM

    Yes, you have been very helpful. my only problem now is getting a copy of the firmware that is installed to reflash it. since it's behind a pay wall.

    i have to call about it, but suspect it will cost more than it's worth.

    i will keep my fingers crossed that when i talk to Oracle, they may be willing to email me the currently installed version for free. but i doubt it...

    will let you know how i go.

    for me, it is now good night.

    thanks for you help. Appreciate it.

    ClaudiuO-Oracle