Forum Stats

  • 3,767,936 Users
  • 2,252,732 Discussions
  • 7,874,386 Comments

Discussions

Upgrade OEM 13.2 to OEM 13.3

user12003658
user12003658 Member Posts: 69 Bronze Badge
edited Feb 6, 2020 1:44PM in Enterprise Manager

I am preparing to upgrade OEM13c(13.2) to 13.3. It is a single-OMS that runs on RHEL7. According to knowledgebase document 2418352.1, you should install software binaries of version 13.3 in a separate home and run "ConfigureGC.sh" script from the new home to perform the upgrade.

Are the knowledgebase document and chapter 4 of Cloud control upgrade guide 13.3.1 is enough for successful upgrade? Please share your experiences, known issues and best practices for a successful upgrade.

Thanks in advance,

mrrr

Best Answer

Answers

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited Jan 30, 2020 11:08AM Accepted Answer

    Hi,

    By default 13.3 EM install will give you 13.3.1 DB plugin.

    We can install 13.3.2 plugins along with the OEM, however we have to download the plugins separately and stage them on the OMS.

    Download the plugins from: https://www.oracle.com/technetwork/oem/enterprise-manager/downloads/oem-cloud-upgrade-5462739.html

    Stage them anywhere on the OMS host and invoke the 13.3 installer using the “Software Only with Plugins” option, using the command:

    ./em13300_linux64.bin INSTALL_SWONLY_WITH_PLUGINS=true PLUGIN_LOCATION=/refresh/home/Downloads/PG

    Once the OEM software is installed, invoke the configuration using:

    $<13.3 Middleware Home>/sysman/install/ConfigureGC.sh

    Best Regards,

    Venkat

    User527914
  • user12003658
    user12003658 Member Posts: 69 Bronze Badge
    edited Feb 6, 2020 10:51AM

    OEM upgrade completed successfully. The upgrade did not install 13.3.2 DB plugin even after specifying the PLUGIN_LOCATION parameter while invoking the .bin executable.

    Thanks,

    mlrrr

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited Feb 6, 2020 11:51AM

    Hi mlrrr,

    From the PLUGIN_LOCATION provided, can you provide the "ls -ltr" command output.

    I would like to see the opar / zip files included there.

    Thanks,

    Venkat

  • user12003658
    user12003658 Member Posts: 69 Bronze Badge
    edited Feb 6, 2020 12:29PM

    Hi Venkat,

    Here it is:

    -rw-r-----. 1 oracle dba 1910353393 Jan 30 15:05 13.3.2.0.0_oracle.sysman.db_2000_0.zip

    -rwxr-xr-x. 1 oracle dba 1278491093 Feb  3 11:01 em13300_linux64.bin

    -rw-r-----. 1 oracle dba 1742204641 Feb  3 12:02 em13300_linux64-2.zip

    -rw-r-----. 1 oracle dba 2090882426 Feb  3 12:08 em13300_linux64-3.zip

    -rw-r-----. 1 oracle dba  694002559 Feb  3 12:11 em13300_linux64-5.zip

    -rw-r-----. 1 oracle dba 1801995711 Feb  3 12:18 em13300_linux64-6.zip

    -rw-r-----. 1 oracle dba 2117436260 Feb  3 12:22 em13300_linux64-4.zip

    Thanks,

    mlrrr

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited Feb 6, 2020 1:44PM

    Hi Mlrrr,

    Understood the problem.

    If you see the db plugin it is downloaded as zip file. It should be with opar extension.

    We see this issue if we download the plugin from Chrome browser which renames the file from opar to zip.

    If the file is with zip, it will not be recognized while performing the install. It has to be renamed as opar.

    Best Regards,

    Venkat