Forum Stats

• 3,825,002 Users
  • 2,260,454 Discussions
  • 7,896,381 Comments

Discussions

What is the difference between IAM & IDCS?

Erik123456
Erik123456 Member Posts: 4 Red Ribbon
edited Mar 12, 2020 11:26PM in Identity Manager

Hi - we have recently signed up to Oracle Cloud & I am currently configuring security & access for users.

However it seems as though there are two places where you could add users; IAM (Identity Access Management) & IDCS (ID Console Service).

I have been doing the online training which we received but that primarily focuses on IAM.

IAM:

pastedImage_0.png

IDCS:

pastedImage_1.png

I am confused as to why there are two places & not a single point of control. I am new to this. Furthermore, I would expect creating users in IAM would flow onto IDCS, or vice-versa, but user info does not flow across.

Can somebody please give me some insight as to what the difference is between IAM & IDCS, & where I should be creating users? Why you would use IAM or IDCS over the other?

Futhermore, creating users in IAM & Policies seems to be giving users access to the instances (e.g. OAC, ADW) whereas IDCS does not give them access. Could this be that you can only create Policies in IAM?

Regards.

Best Answer

• Srinath Menon-Oracle
    Srinath Menon-Oracle Posts: 6,291 Employee
    edited Mar 12, 2020 11:26PM Answer ✓

I will put it in a very simple non-technical way here :

1. IAM - this governs the entire set of instances that are provisioned / available for you. So, any users / groups / policies that you create across the entire cloud infrastructure that are applicable to your org / domain.

2. IDCS - This is one of the parts of cloud offering which is governed by the settings / users / groups etc from point 1 and is specific application.The users being created here are only applicable for the application and it's integration with other applications / entities.

Answers

• Srinath Menon-Oracle
    Srinath Menon-Oracle Posts: 6,291 Employee