Forum Stats

  • 3,740,237 Users
  • 2,248,210 Discussions
  • 7,861,106 Comments

Discussions

Tell us about your experience with the "Oracle Enterprise Manager App for Grafana ”

Murtaza Husain-Oracle
Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
edited Sep 24, 2020 3:37AM in Enterprise Manager

Oracle Enterprise Manager App for Grafana user experience

Note: The minimum supported Enterprise Manager version is EM13.4 RU3 which works with Oracle Enterprise Manager App for Grafana v1.0.2

Tagged:
Venkata Thiruveedhi-OracleMurtaza Husain-OracleVictor Filho-Oracle

Best Answer

«134

Answers

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited May 15, 2020 10:30AM

    Hi Murtaza Husain,

    I think the Grafana Plugin is not released yet. We are expecting it to be available with RU3.

    Best Regards,
    Venkat

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited May 15, 2020 5:27PM

    Hi Venkat,

    Thank you for the follow-up.

    Yes, that is correct that Grafana Plug-in is not yet released and is

    planned for EM13.4 RU3 release.

    Actually, I have recently started supporting Grafana as a Product

    Manager within the Enterprise Manager team and the intent is to create a

    place-holder on the Oracle Community page for future knowledge sharing

    and product related support for Grafana Plug-in.

    Hope this clarifies. Do let me know if you have any questions.

    Thanks,

    Murtaza

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited May 16, 2020 4:29AM

    Hi Murtaza,

    Excellent!! Good to know you.

    This would be really useful if you keep us sharing more details on the Grafana as there are MOS communities where we get more external customer queries related to EM and recently for Grafana as well.

    There i have mentioned that this would be available from RU3.

    If you have more details to share, like certification / version / documentation, keep the thread posted. It would be really very helpful.

    Thanks again,
    Venkat

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited May 16, 2020 6:48PM

    Venkat - Nice to e-meet you too.

    I would defintely share more information once we are close to release date.

    BTW, can you send me a pointer to the MOS communities page? I would also

    want to be a part of EM and Grafana related discussions.

    Thanks,

    Murtaza

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited May 18, 2020 5:30AM

    Hi Murtaza,

    Please find the MOS communities link for Enterprise Manager

    Best Regards,
    Venkat

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jun 6, 2020 1:38PM

    Grafana Plug-in for Oracle Enterprise Manager 13.4 is now LIVE and generally available! It was initially showcased last year at OOW and garnered lots of excitement and interest from our customers, as it offers some very fascinating capabilities such as the ability to capture data across multiple EMs and visualize it on a single federated dashboard!

    For more details, please visit the Grafana Plug-in download page: https://www.oracle.com/enterprise-manager/downloads/grafana-downloads.html

    Note: It can also be accessed via EM Download page.

    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
  • User_F1DAX
    User_F1DAX Member Posts: 3 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 7:30AM

    Hi Murtaza,

    I tried to installing Grafana plugin but I can't see oracle enterprise manager data source in Grafana. I restarted grafana server several time and cleared browser cache but it is not visible.

    My Grafana version is 6.7.2

    My OEM version is  13c Release 4 Plug-in Update 3 (13.4.1.3).

    [[email protected]]# grafana-cli plugins ls

    installed plugins:

    oracle-emcc-app @ 1.0.0

    [[email protected] bin]# ls -lrt /var/lib/grafana/plugins

    total 144

    drwxr-xr-x. 6 root root   4096 Jun  5 22:13 oracle-emcc-app-1.0.0

    -rw-r--r--. 1 root root 136029 Jun 17 05:10 oracle-emcc-app-1.0.0.zip

    drwxr-xr-x. 6 root root   4096 Jun 17 07:02 oracle-emcc-app

    I am not sure what I am missing here.

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 7:55AM

    Hi,

    Enable Grafana Service on the OMS server.

    cd OMS_HOME/bin/

    emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.enable -value true
    emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.executesql.repository.query.enable -value true

    emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.executesql.target.query.enable -value true

    Best Regards,

    Venkat

  • User_F1DAX
    User_F1DAX Member Posts: 3 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 8:00AM

    Hi ,

    I already did that steps.Still I can't see.

    [[email protected]~]$ emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.enable -value true -sysman_pwd xxxx

    Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control 13c Release 4

    Copyright (c) 1996, 2020 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.

    Property oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.enable has been set to value true for all Management Servers

    OMS restart is not required to reflect the new property value

    [[email protected] ~]$ emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.executesql.repository.query.enable -value true -sysman_pwd xxxx

    Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control 13c Release 4

    Copyright (c) 1996, 2020 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.

    Property oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.executesql.repository.query.enable has been set to value true for all Management Servers

    OMS restart is not required to reflect the new property value

    [[email protected] ~]$ emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.executesql.target.query.enable -value true -sysman_pwd xxxx

    Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control 13c Release 4

    Copyright (c) 1996, 2020 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.

    Property oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.executesql.target.query.enable has been set to value true for all Management Servers

    OMS restart is not required to reflect the new property value

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 12:33PM

    Which OS are you using for this installation?

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 1:29PM

    Also, look at Grafana server log for runtime issues; By greping on the Grafana server log for "oracle-emcc-app" will give relevant error messages

  • Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle
    Venkata Thiruveedhi-Oracle Posts: 590 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 1:49PM

    Hi Murtaza,

    This issue was taken care. "Oracle Enterprise Manager APP" was not enabled. I have suggested him to validate this.

    Got the confirmations that this issue was solved and Vimal is able to see the source now.

    Regards,

    Venkat

    Murtaza Husain-Oracle
  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 1:54PM

    Great, thank you for the confirmation; I am also working in parallel to clarify this further in Grafana Plug-in guide.

  • ArunBavera
    ArunBavera Member Posts: 22 Red Ribbon
    edited Jun 17, 2020 4:41PM

    Can you update some demo links and OOW demo link for Grafana plugin here.

    Thanks

  • User_F1DAX
    User_F1DAX Member Posts: 3 Employee
    edited Jun 17, 2020 11:20PM

    Hi Murtaza,

    That will be great.For me I was trying to find Oracle Enterprise Manager APP  While adding data source as per installation doc.
    But I am not able to find it.Then Venkat recommend to enable it from installed app.I did not find installed app in Grafana version 6.7.2.

    So I look around and found there is Plugin tab under configuration.From that place I enable it then It is visible in datasource.

    So it seems in each version Grafana is changing.I am exploring it and will keep you updated with the progress.

    Thanks

    Vimal

    Murtaza Husain-Oracle
  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jun 18, 2020 12:34AM

    Thank you Vimal for the update. Please do keep us posted on any future findings in terms of usability and/or documentation improvements.

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jun 18, 2020 12:48AM

    We are in the process of creating brand new demos that would potentially cover the following topics. Please stay tuned.

    1. Setting up the Grafana Plug-In to cover one-time setup/installation
    2. Viewing the Default OOB Dashboards in Grafana using EM as a data source
    3. Lastly, more advanced cases such as editing OOB Dashboards and creating custom Dashboards/Reports
  • user13399581
    user13399581 Member Posts: 5 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jul 1, 2020 6:45PM

    Hi Murtaza,

    I deployed the plugin and the 'Database performance Report' template works right out of the box. But none of the other tempates are populating anything even though i copied them to a different folder under grafana.

    What am i doing wrong here?

    Thanks

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jul 1, 2020 7:13PM

    Hi, Just to understand, the OOB Database Performance Dashboard is working fine for you?

    Which specific template have you tried to use? After selecting it, can you please list out the steps you have taken to utilize it?

    Thanks,

    Murtaza

  • User_PVTD9
    User_PVTD9 Member Posts: 4 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 2, 2020 10:41AM

    Hello guys,

    Currently the following version is available for download. I would be really grateful of someone can please email me the older version.

    Currently i am using: oracle-emcc-app-1.0.2

    It looks like the current version(above) of the app has made it mandatory to configure API throttling.

    Following is the response from the endpoint:

    response:Object

    I am unable to configure API throttling either:

    emctl set property -name oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.throttle.max.req.per.user.interval.sec -value 120 -sysman_pwd Orasysman_01Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control 13c Release 4Copyright (c) 1996, 2020 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.Definition does not exist for property "oracle.sysman.db.restfulapi.grafana.throttle.max.req.per.user.interval.sec". Can not set property value

    email: [email protected]

    Warm Regards,

    balaji R

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jul 2, 2020 2:35PM

    Hi Balaji,

    Couple of follow-up questions:

    • What version of EM are you using? Is it EM13.4 RU3?
    • Moreover, are you running EM on OCI?

    Thanks,

    Murtaza

  • user13399581
    user13399581 Member Posts: 5 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jul 2, 2020 2:59PM

    yes, database performance report is working fine. None of the other sample or template is working. do i have to put my own queries on it?

    I thought the sample -Database configuration report should work but it is not showing data as well. I am just saving the template in a different folder and trying to populate with last 5 days of data.

    The other templates don't have any panels visible.

  • User_PVTD9
    User_PVTD9 Member Posts: 4 Red Ribbon
    edited Jul 2, 2020 3:02PM

    Thank you very much for your response @Murtaza Husain-Oracle.

    Yes, it is RU 3, i have applied the latest patch: 31299359.

    No, this is not running on OCI, a normal virtualised server.

    I have enabled the REST API as per the document and I am able to query the OMR repository using REST call. I tried it out using "post-master" successfully.
    However, it fails from Grafana. I have tried in the grafana versions: 6.6.2 and 6.7.1

    My OMS-promethius App version: oracle-emcc-app-1.0.2

    Warm Regards,

    balaji R

    P.S: We are very excited about this feature. Thanks again.

  • Murtaza Husain-Oracle
    Murtaza Husain-Oracle Posts: 31 Employee
    edited Jul 2, 2020 5:13PM

    The two OOB dashboards as listed below should work "as-is" with the default setup you have i.e.

    • Sample-Database Configuration Report (Non-Time Series)
    • Sample-Database Performance Report (Time Series)

    I would suggest just try using the "Sample-Database Configuration Report" as-is for now and see if the data populates. Don't save it in a different folder for now.

    As far as using "Pre-Defined Templates" are concerned, please follow the instructions listed on the EM App for Grafana guide i.e. https://docs.oracle.com/en/enterprise-manager/cloud-control/enterprise-manager-cloud-control/13.4/emgrf/create-dashboard…

    Essentially, you need to write a query to populate the necessary data in the template.

  • user13399581
    user13399581 Member Posts: 5 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jul 2, 2020 7:34PM

    Seems like 'DB configuration report' is trying to pull data from the OEM repository database directly instead of using the OEM API.

    This is the query under one of the panels -

    select o.name as "Option_Name", o.selected as "Configured"

                     from sysman.mgmt$db_options o

                    where o.target_guid = (select target_guid from  sysman.mgmt$target where target_name= $oem_gf_target_name )

                      order by name

    I thought the OEM repository credentials are optional and was needed only for pre 13.4 OMR.  is that not the case?

Sign In or Register to comment.