Forum Stats

  • 3,770,334 Users
  • 2,253,095 Discussions
  • 7,875,407 Comments

Discussions

Calc Manager is not showing in workspace

Vinn
Vinn Member Posts: 239 Blue Ribbon
edited Jun 24, 2020 7:03PM in EPM System Infrastructure

Hi All,

After deploying weblogic/FR patch in one of the environment. Calc Manager is not showing in workspace. Navigate--> Administer.

Request to please help me in resolving the issue.

Cord234Krishna Chukkaluru

Answers

  • iArchSolutions-Joe
    iArchSolutions-Joe Member Posts: 133 Red Ribbon
    edited May 31, 2020 8:50PM

    Hi there - presuming Calc manager worked prior to patching here are a couple of quick things to look at.  First - sounds obvious but clear you web browser cache and ensure your browser is set to check for newer versions of web pages on every visit.

    Now the harder one.  If you check the calc manager logs and things seem as though it's starting up fine (i.e. WebLogic log for CalcManager0/1/etc say Running Mode) and you can run the validation.bat|sh script on the Calc manager server then you might be facing the tadpole issue. There's a known issue/bug which occurs sometimes POST patching WebLogic.  It's patch #18561746.

    Whenever you patch WebLogic to any of the CPU updates from Jan 2020 to present, this Oracle Common patch 18561746 should also be applied.  As a rule of thumb, we patch ALL servers in an Oracle EPM/Hyperion environment with WebLogic patches even if there aren't any WebLogic process running on those servers as EVERY  server has the WebLogic binaries installed by the common installer.  Then, since late fall on, we also go and apply the patch #18561746 if it's not already installed to the Oracle Common folder, again on EVERY server.  Steps are pretty simple and noted below.  Again do this AFTER applying a WebLogic patch from Jan 2020 on.  After doing this, "if" you still have issues, let's dig deeper and see why.  But try these two things first.

    Like always, and every time a change is mentioned ALWAYS COLD BACKUP FIRST!  It's your only good way back.

    1.Create a folder called PATCH_TOP under D drive.

    2.Download the file 18561746 and copy the file under D:\PATCH_TOP folder.

    3.Unzip the files under the PATCH_TOP folder.

    4.Open command prompt and set the below variables

    C:\Users\admin>set ORACLE_HOME=E:\Oracle\Middleware\oracle_common

    C:\Users\admin>set PATH=E:\Oracle\Middleware\oracle_common\OPatch;%PATH%

    5.Once the path is set then from command prompt navigate to D:\PATCH_TOP\18561746 path and execute the below command.

    E:\>cd PATCH_TOP\18561746

    E:\PATCH_TOP\18561746>opatch apply.

    Joe Malewicki

    Certified Cloud Architect

    [email protected]

    203-880-4268

  • Vinn
    Vinn Member Posts: 239 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 1, 2020 5:01PM

    Post applying the patch 18561746 ,We are facing the issue. I have ran the validate.sh everything looks good. Also , can you please let me know is this the known issue after applying 18561746

  • iArchSolutions-Joe
    iArchSolutions-Joe Member Posts: 133 Red Ribbon
    edited Jun 1, 2020 6:05PM

    Can you confirm which WebLogic CPU you applied and also which FR patch/patches?

    Joe Malewicki

    Certified Cloud Architect

    [email protected]

    203-880-4268

  • Vinn
    Vinn Member Posts: 239 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 2, 2020 9:48AM

    I have applied the following patches

    Financial Reporting-->18561746

    WebLogic--->30857748

    After applying the patch calc manager is not showing in workspace.. As I didn't touch calc manager but not sure why issue is with calc manager.

  • iArchSolutions-Joe
    iArchSolutions-Joe Member Posts: 133 Red Ribbon
    edited Jun 4, 2020 10:40AM

    Sorry I'm seeing you are saying after the FMW patch 18561746 Calc is not showing up - You had mentioned FR (financial reporting) patch  above, not FMW.  So after the tadpole FMW (fusion middleware) patch things are broken.  Sorry missed that.

    As a quick test, try to clear your CalcManager0 "cache" and "tmp" directories under the domains\servers\calc...etc.... and then restart CalcManager service to let it recompile.  Just to rule out something obvious.

    Also it'd be helpful to get some type of log so have you looked at the OHS logs, possibly enable debugging with OHS to trace the OHS to WebLogic traffic.

    One more silly one (sorry for asking) - if you go into Workspace the Administer and look at the workspace options there's a section of active products on the bottom of the screen.  Calc Manager is enabled there right?

    Joe Malewicki

    Certified Cloud Architect

    [email protected]

    203-880-4268

    ***Please don’t forget to mark comments as helpful or answered so others in the community can better resolve the same issues if it is encountered.***

    Cord234
  • Vinn
    Vinn Member Posts: 239 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 6, 2020 11:21AM

    As a quick test, try to clear your CalcManager0 "cache" and "tmp" directories under the domains\servers\calc...etc.... and then restart CalcManager service to let it recompile.  Just to rule out something obvious.

    It didn't help in resolving the issue.

    Also it'd be helpful to get some type of log so have you looked at the OHS logs, possibly enable debugging with OHS to trace the OHS to WebLogic traffic.

    Sorry not sure how to enable debugging with OHS to trace the OHS to WebLogic traffic.

    One more silly one (sorry for asking) - if you go into Workspace the Administer and look at the workspace options there's a section of active products on the bottom of the screen.  Calc Manager is enabled there right?

    In the workspace, calc Manager is not showing as an active product.

    Sorry for the late response..Since it is a prod.. I cannot take outage during weekdays. Hence a bit of late.

  • Srini+K
    Srini+K Member Posts: 253 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 7, 2020 9:21PM

    have to tried to remove the patch causing trouble?

  • Vinn
    Vinn Member Posts: 239 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 9, 2020 9:27PM

    Tried removing the patch as well but that even didn't help in resolving the issue.

  • iArchSolutions-Joe
    iArchSolutions-Joe Member Posts: 133 Red Ribbon
    edited Jun 10, 2020 10:40AM

    At this point it still sounds like your configuration is corrupt/changed somewhere.  Those patches you mentioned we apply all the time and haven't run across this scenario.  Also - since it's not showing up in Workspace that to me sounds like a Registry type of issue or OHS proxy type of issue.  To enable debugging for OHS to WebLogic you can follow this blog (made it just for you!) but I must warn, the debugging is only helpful when OHS actually attempts to access the underlying WebLogic managed Server.  IN your case it seems like Calculation Manager via Workspace via OHS isn't "hooked" or visible right now.  So this debugging might not help you.  If you follow the procedures and don't see any logs generated, try to run the EPM Diagnostics (validate.bat|sh) under your user_projects\<instanceName>\bin directory to see if that kicked off will instantiate any traffic requests to ClacManager via OHS.  The goal is to see what OHS sees when trying to access the underlying product.

    https://www.iarchsolutions.com/how-to-enable-debug-mode-for-oracle-http-server-ohs-within-for-a-weblogic-managed-server/

    To try and re-configure Calculation Manager:

    You could safely stop all services, backup your Shared Services and Calc manager databases/schemas.  The re-run the configuration tasks for the following to see if that corrects the issue:

    (note the UPPER CASE C.Y.A.'s)

    Calculation Manager Database config (MAKE SURE YOU SELECT THE OPTION TO RE-USE ALL OBJECTS)

    Calculation Manager Web Application Deployment (YOU WILL NEED OT RESET ANY AND ALL WEBLOGIC TUNING OR HEAP TUNING SETTINGS AS THIS WILL DROP AND RECREATE THE SERVICE AND WLS Managed Server)

    Foundation Services - (OHS) Web Server Configuration (BACKUP ALL OHS *.conf FILES THAT MIGHT HAVE BEEN UPDATED INCLUDING Epm.conf, mod_wl_ohs.conf, https.conf, etc..  ANY CUSTOMIZATIONS IN THESE MIGHT NEED TO BE RESET)

    After doing that you're basically reconfiguring Calc Manager and re-configurtaion the OHS front door.  This sounds extreme but you've spent a lot of time troubleshooting so far and need to weigh how long that's worth.  We would need to start seeing logs to really dig into this.  Happy to do so but you shouldn't be posted anything private on here.  But - happy to look if you want to drop a private note!

    Joe Malewicki

    Certified Cloud Architect

    [email protected]

    203-880-4268

    ***Please don’t forget to mark comments as helpful or answered so others in the community can better resolve the same issues if it is encountered.***

  • Vinn
    Vinn Member Posts: 239 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jun 24, 2020 7:03PM

    Upon doing lot of research we found that workspaceconfig was missing under calc_lwa.

    hence we have faced this issue. We have figured it out by importing the existing file to database, which inturn issue got resolved.

    Thanks for all your inputs

    Krishna Chukkaluru