Forum Stats

  • 3,769,804 Users
  • 2,253,023 Discussions
  • 7,875,210 Comments

Discussions

can we use epmsys_registry.bat instead of reconfiguration for DB host name change

Mikkis
Mikkis Member Posts: 221 Blue Ribbon
edited Aug 2, 2020 4:41PM in EPM System Infrastructure

Hi

I just stumbled upon this document that says we can use epmsys_registry.bat to change the host in 11.1.2.4 version.

My question is whether we can use this utility to change DB host instead of reconfiguration when the new DB server has different host name.

Thanks in advance,

PM

Tagged:
MikkisKrishna ChukkaluruVasantha Kumar

Answers

  • Vasantha Kumar
    Vasantha Kumar Member Posts: 49 Bronze Badge
    edited Jul 8, 2020 11:24PM

    It is better to do re-configuration for DB host name change. You will not know where else the links will be there apart from EPM registry.

    Regards,

    Vasanth

    MikkisKrishna Chukkaluru
  • Sh!va
    Sh!va Member Posts: 1,035
    edited Jul 9, 2020 3:58AM

    You can use it. But then you need to update datasource in weblogic manually.

    Recommended is run configuration utility but this is also a way to do it.

    Choice is yours.

    On Thu 9 Jul, 2020, 2:50 AM community-admin, <

  • Mikkis
    Mikkis Member Posts: 221 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jul 9, 2020 10:25AM

    Shiva,

    Thank you for the response. You mentioned  we need to update datasource in weblogic manually. Is that the only place where we need to update?

    Thanks in advance,

    PM

  • Srini+K
    Srini+K Member Posts: 253 Blue Ribbon
    edited Jul 9, 2020 2:34PM

    Run a report on registry.. it will show all connections/parameters etc by individual server..

    you can modify any of those using epm_registry utility.. it also gives facility to decode passwords.

    modify at you own peril.

  • Sh!va
    Sh!va Member Posts: 1,035
    edited Jul 9, 2020 3:52PM

    If it's just simple configuration then yes these two steps will take care.

    But I am not aware of what all tools you are using and if any customization

    have been done on your environment.

    So that analysis you need to take care.

    On Thu 9 Jul, 2020, 7:55 PM community-admin, <

  • Krishna Chukkaluru
    Krishna Chukkaluru Member Posts: 164 Silver Badge
    edited Jul 11, 2020 5:16AM

    Hi Mikkis,

    As Vasantha Kumar mentioned, reconfiguring the databases using EPM system configurator is a better approach and it will take care of JDBC data sources update in weblogic also. When it comes to manual changes, you may have to take care of Planning data sources, DRM database updates etc.. which are not taken care by EPM system configurator.

    Regards,

    Krishna C

    Vasantha Kumar
  • SreekumarHariharan
    SreekumarHariharan Member Posts: 284 Bronze Badge
    edited Aug 2, 2020 4:41PM

    Yes, you can update it. But it has a lot of merry go round stuff involved in it.

    I would do the below steps

    Option 1:

    First, take the backup of the shared services database as well as your EPM registry

    Then proceed with the epm_registry report, once your review the report, go ahead with the update by running the 'epmsys_registry.bat updatehost' 

    Here update host with your new DB server hostname

    Restart the services

    If you are using FCM , then check the JNDI and update it accordingly

    JDBC connection pools needs to be check and update it accordingly in the WebLogic.

    After re-run the epm_registry report again and check the value for WebLogic

    epmsys_registry.bat view #<Object ID for WebLogic>/@adminhostname

    Option 2:

    Reuse the DB at the configuration time

    Start the WebLogic

    Redeploy

    Fix the deployment failure issue

    Remove the nodes referring to the old DB names in the epmsys registry

    Redeploy the application server

    Restart the EPM servers