Forum Stats

• 3,734,451 Users
  • 2,246,973 Discussions
  • 7,857,297 Comments

Discussions

How to import data files using SQL Loader on a FTP site daily

Hi,

I need to import daily a file with data into a table using SQL Loader. This file would be put everyday automatically on the FTP site and I need to import the data daily into a table.

If there are duplicates records, there should be skipped in order for the importation to run without errors.

The Database is version 12.1, the DB server is running under Windows 2012 R2 Standard.

Is there any documentation or how-to on how to achieve this ? I am a novice with SQL Loader.

Best regards,

Christian

Best Answer

• EdStevens
    EdStevens Member Posts: 28,143 Gold Crown
    Accepted Answer

I was able to create a ctl file and to use sql loader with a local file. How can I specify an ftp site for the file containing the data ?

The file has to be on the machine running the sqlldr. Not necessarily physically on that machine, but at least on a disk system that is mounted to that machine. You will need to move the file from the ftp site to the machine running sqlldr.

Answers

• Jason_(A_Non)
    Jason_(A_Non) Member Posts: 2,018 Silver Trophy

I'm going to assume the process of getting the file from the remote FTP site to the DB server is happening outside of the database process itself. I suppose it could be initiated via the Scheduler and an external job, but that's assuming basic FTP. SFTP can be a bit more tricky due but is possible.

Once the file is on the server, have you considered using an EXTERNAL TABLE to access this data instead of using SQL Loader. It is a similar concept but the DB sees that file on disk as a normal table and can perform queries against it. This would allow your query to handle duplicates in the manner needed.

Not an answer but a starting point at least for thought/discussion.

• EdStevens