Forum Stats

  • 3,741,232 Users
  • 2,248,397 Discussions
  • 7,861,693 Comments

Discussions

Why is Dyn Updater all of a sudden spawning 20+ UAC prompts on my computer?

User_LB663
User_LB663 Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon

I use Dyn Updater to update my dynamic IP. Has worked without issues. Now today for some unexplained reason, a bunch of UAC prompts were spawned by Dyn Updater regarding making some sort of change on my system.

I had to manually close some 20 of them. Then a few hours later it happened again.

The patch notes for this application say as of 2010 it was updated to allow non-admin users to perform some activities with the use of UAC prompts, but I'm an administrator on my machine and I've been using this for years since 2010 so I don't understand why this is occurring.

Anyone have any ideas?

User_3ELIOUser_241MUUser_WK0HO
«1

Answers

  • User_5JPLL
    User_5JPLL Member Posts: 5 Green Ribbon

    Only 20? I got 91. Also looking for a solution. My guess is the demon is hanging or stops responding and it keeps trying to restart it. I assume that it can't reach the update server. But that's just a guess. Would like to know why this suddenly started.

  • User_WVUAJ
    User_WVUAJ Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon

    So do I. When restarted, DYNupdater does not connect to the server.There seems to be a problem connecting or logging in.

  • User_GM7MT
    User_GM7MT Member Posts: 5 Green Ribbon
    edited Jul 20, 2021 2:38PM

    I'm having the same issue, can anyone from Oracle give us a solution/workaround or at lease a root cause of why is this happening suddenly?

  • User_18JDJ
    User_18JDJ Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon

    I, as well as a number of clients which I've setup Dyn DNS have the same issues starting at 15:47 yesterday afternoon (Jul 19, 2021) according to the daemon and frontend logs.

    Try clicking "Remove Account" from the Dyn Updater.

    Select the account "none".

    In my case, my current account appear back again and the Host Active turned green.

    Hope this helps someone.

  • User_LB663
    User_LB663 Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon
    edited Jul 20, 2021 9:39PM

    For what it's worth, my host already reports green. Was yours prior to removing/readding?


    Also 20+ was being humble. It does spawn a hell of a lot more than that like the above stated LOL.

    Seems it is indeed crashing at some point (only a couple of these events in my event viewer), but the Dyn logs show a buttload of the following events:


    2021-07-20 07:26:10,496 - frontend - WARNING - Failed to receive API response from backend. Attempting to restart daemon.

    2021-07-20 07:26:10,841 - daemon - INFO - Insufficient privileges, relaunching as admin.


    ------Event Log-------

    Log Name:   Application
    Source:    Application Error
    Date:     7/20/2021 7:48:08 AM
    Event ID:   1000
    Task Category: (100)
    Level:     Error
    Keywords:   Classic
    User:     N/A
    Computer:   DESKTOP-MATTHEW
    Description:
    Faulting application name: dyn_updater.exe, version: 5.5.0.0, time stamp: 0x50afcaea
    Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.19041.1110, time stamp: 0xc830c52d
    Exception code: 0x40000015
    Fault offset: 0x0012b4b2
    Faulting process id: 0x68c0
    Faulting application start time: 0x01d77d1b19179d38
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Dyn\Updater\dyn_updater.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
    Report Id: 2bd88df3-8166-46c1-a833-27b0f0d88280
    Faulting package full name: 
    Faulting package-relative application ID: 


  • User_LB663
    User_LB663 Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon

    I also have the following event, which suggests it's trying to run a number of python scripts, including updating the NIC, but I have this setting disabled as I do not wish to have my NIC set to use DynDNS servers. Not sure if it's related or not.

    Log Name:   Application
    Source:    DynUpdater
    Date:     7/20/2021 4:05:34 AM
    Event ID:   3
    Task Category: None
    Level:     Error
    Keywords:   Classic
    User:     N/A
    Computer:   DESKTOP-MATTHEW
    Description:
    The instance's SvcRun() method failed 
    Traceback (most recent call last):
     File "/win32serviceutil.py", line 835, in SvcRun
     File "/lib\daemon\windows.py", line 230, in SvcDoRun
     File "/lib\daemon\windows.py", line 309, in main
     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 639, in check_and_send_updates
     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 419, in _get_hosts_to_update
     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 361, in _get_host_addresses
     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 621, in get_ipaddress
    AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'version' 
    %2: %3


  • User_CWQ65
    User_CWQ65 Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon

    Happening to me as well, no need to repeat the details others already have. This is infuriating and we need it to stop pronto!

    User_LB663Jon W.
  • User_LB663
    User_LB663 Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon
    edited Jul 20, 2021 9:46PM

    I've submitted an email to support. Will see what they say. I suggest everyone else do the same.


    https://account.dyn.com/support/contact/email.html

  • User_LB663
    User_LB663 Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon

    So far this is what's being said. I do not understand the direction as the service is already running as local SYSTEM so it should already be running with the highest level privileges possible.

    I would highly suggest NOT disabling UAC entirely.


    Dyn Support <[email protected]>

    5:48 PM (4 minutes ago)

    ### Do Not Place Your Reply Below This Line ###


    Good afternoon Matthew,


    In looking into this problem, this elevation means that this application needs to be run as the administrator.


    Also, you can navigate to C:\program files (x86)\Dyn\updater

    and find dyn_updater.exe

    right-click on it and select properties

    Select the Compatibility tab

    select the box Run this program as an administrator

    select apply

    then ok.



    If this does not work, you can disable UAC until the bug has been fixed:

    UAC off

    To turn off UAC:

    Type UAC into the Windows Start menu.

    Click "Change User Account Control settings."

    Move the slider down to "Never Notify."

    Click OK and then restart the computer.



    Thank you for your patience.

  • Jon W.
    Jon W. Member Posts: 4 Green Ribbon

    I'm fighting the same thing, I thought maybe it was a change with the July cumulative update, but uninstalling it presented no relief. I'd already tried setting the .exe to run as admin, but that appears to actually not launch it at all, oh, and running the front-end as admin prevents access to the configuration data as that's apparently only available when running in normal user contest. I'm curious to see what response I get when support replies to the ticket I opened today as well.

  • User_3ELIO
    User_3ELIO Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon

    Having installed large Oracle systems in the past, you kind of get used to Oracle software not working properly. This is my laptop before I had to crash it to regain control.

    When it did reboot my Windows laptop the Dyn client had forgotten my details again, but that's a different story. It seems to run OK on my MacBook.


  • Jon W.
    Jon W. Member Posts: 4 Green Ribbon

    So, curiously enough, support told me the same line about disabling UAC, however no mention of it being a bug or a fix being in the works. I politely told them where to stick their UAC solution and suggested they actually address the problem. I actually support an application that runs as a system service and does things like grab IP addresses and sends that along with other information back to a central location, and hey, guess what, it doesn't constantly trigger the UAC prompts...

    I think as a community/consumer base we need to really try and drive the impact with these folks, so if you haven't already, do please open a support ticket for the issue.

    https://account.dyn.com/support/contact/email.html

  • Shannon - Oracle Dyn Support-Oracle
    Shannon - Oracle Dyn Support-Oracle Member Posts: 10 Employee
    edited Jul 22, 2021 7:14PM

    Hello All,

    The Oracle Dyn engineers are reviewing this issue -- we do not have a definitive source at this point, but we do suggest that you try the following options:

    (1) Refresh your account by going to Settings --> Preferences --> Select Account and YES to remove --> Select Add Account

    (2) Disable Dyn Recursive DNS by going to Dyn Updater Preferences and unchecking the box next to "Use Dyn Recursive DNS servers on this machine."

    If that doesn't work, try:

    (3) Remove and Reinstall the Dyn Update Client

    We will continue to investigate a fix on our end, but please let us know if you have further issues or question by writing [email protected] or opening a support case from your Dyn service portal.

    -- Dyn Customer Support

    [email protected]

  • User_9RBJV
    User_9RBJV Member Posts: 4 Green Ribbon

    None of the temporary solution given in this topic works (Compatibility to run as administrator, Disabled UAC, Remove and add account again or uninstall and reinstall Dyn Update Client). Still geting the Error

    We need a definitive solution! I got a few disconnected sessions on a server with more than 5GB of RAM consumption due to all the hundreds of dyn_updater.exe instances oppened automatically.

    Jon W.
  • User_LB663
    User_LB663 Member Posts: 6 Green Ribbon

    With respect, I have an active case with support right now and they are absolutely clueless. All they keep saying is "disable UAC". When I say that's not an option, they reply "if you don't want to install the client on your PC, use your router". I mean... come on.

    Jon W.
  • Jon W.
    Jon W. Member Posts: 4 Green Ribbon

    I got the same response from them when I pushed back on the idiocy of disabling UAC, what if my router doesn't even support dynamic DNS?


    What I have been doing is just going in and running the client once a day, and then quitting after it updates. My IP is pretty stable (luckily). We may not be the largest customers, but as paying customers I really feel like they couldn't care less about us. The company I work for gives a lot better support to even our non-paid customers...

    I'm tempted to go try a 3rd party updater and see if that works any better, or maybe even just find another provider. If I'm going to pay for a service, I expect better support (and more transparency) when things don't work than we're currently getting at the moment.

  • Hello,

    Seeing your error referencing KERNELBASE.dll... I am curious if only the Dyn Updater is having issues or if you have other services experiencing issues. Possibly after a recent update.

    -- Dyn Customer Support

    [email protected]

  • User_VIZLS
    User_VIZLS Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon

    Happening here too. Nothing I've tried works. Uninstall/reinstall, change settings, nothing. The app looks pretty hosed.

  • User_5JPLL
    User_5JPLL Member Posts: 5 Green Ribbon

    The problem appears to be twofold. One - something is hanging up the service or at least the front end can't see the daemon. Two - The restart of the service is failing and there is no proper timeout to cancel the previous attempt to restart the service. Now the way it's failing appears to be a coding error on the client, but as it started basically for everyone on Monday without a client update then the root cause has to be at the server end. What changed on the servers over the weekend?

  • User_MBF8M
    User_MBF8M Member Posts: 1 Green Ribbon

    This is what I see in the Windows 10 Event Viewer since July 19, 2021:

    Event id 3

    The instance's SvcRun() method failed

    Traceback (most recent call last):

     File "/win32serviceutil.py", line 835, in SvcRun

     File "/lib\daemon\windows.py", line 230, in SvcDoRun

     File "/lib\daemon\windows.py", line 309, in main

     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 639, in check_and_send_updates

     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 419, in _get_hosts_to_update

     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 361, in _get_host_addresses

     File "/lib\daemon\nicupdate.py", line 621, in get_ipaddress

    AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'version'

    %2: %3

    The last Windows 10 update (KB5004237) was July 14, 2021.

  • gssoft2
    gssoft2 Member Posts: 2 Bronze Badge

    Same issue here (Same entries in the eventlog). The updater app runs on a server (System account).

    Seems to be, oracle have change something on the 19. July.

    Update trough the router also not works.

    Dear people from Oracle, please fix the issue soon as possible.

  • User_AM726
    User_AM726 Member Posts: 3 Green Ribbon

    I'm a paid DNS dynamic pro subscriber as well. We noticed in c:\program files\dyn directory contained a lot of *.pyd files with some having d word crypto in front of it. It keeps triggering uac and slows down host. I think it's unusual to have so many pyd extension files.

    Uninstalled and reinstall ver 5 dyndns updater downloaded from dyndns website didn't help.

    Not sure if their system have been compromised by ransomware and in turn compromised our system as well. AV Scanning on their MSI files and my own system doesn't reveal viruses but i noticed pyd extension files start populating Google drive desktop software and other backup directories as well.

    Oracle support, DO SOMETHING!!!

  • User_GM7MT
    User_GM7MT Member Posts: 5 Green Ribbon

    I have several servers running the update client and I have noticed that the UAC error appears after a Windows update (not sure which one but could be the windows 21H1 update). So looks like Microsoft has changed something that has impact in the DynDNS updater software. I think Oracle support need to review this. I have already opened a ticket sine my DynDNS account is Pro and the answer has very generic workaround that are not working in my case. I'm pushing them to look for the root cause and fix the issue in the software.

    Jon W.
  • Jon W.
    Jon W. Member Posts: 4 Green Ribbon

    That was my first thought, so I rolled the updates back, but no dice. So, unless there was a change in one of the updates that can't be rolled back, the timing seems coincidental.

  • gssoft2
    gssoft2 Member Posts: 2 Bronze Badge

    I don't think it have any things to do whit a microsoft patch.

    I can update the IP trough then windows app and also trough a internet router and both ways don't work.

    I think oracle have some thing changed.

Sign In or Register to comment.