Forum Stats

• 3,767,951 Users
  • 2,252,733 Discussions
  • 7,874,389 Comments

Discussions

Which Oracle Linux copy is best for development?

Eslam_Elbyaly
Eslam_Elbyaly Member Posts: 4,227 Silver Trophy

Hi, I am new to linux. I can guess that Oracle Linux is best for development? If so, then which one should I download? I opened this link https://yum.oracle.com/oracle-linux-isos.html to download a copy of Oracle linux but I could not distinguish between the four copies in the page - Full ISO, Boot ISO, UEK ISO and Source ISO. I believe it's not the "Source ISO" that I need. If there is another Linux distribution that could be better for development, kindly, tell me which one it is.

I am using Oracle XE 18c or later versions, APEX 21.1 and SQL Developer Version 21.2.1.204.1703 - August 11, 2021.

Best Answer

• David Gilpin-Oracle
    David Gilpin-Oracle Principal Product Manager, Oracle Linux and Virtualization Frisco, TXPosts: 32 Employee
    Accepted Answer

Eslam,

The "Boot ISO" is used in very special cases where the bare metal hardware requires a driver that is included on the RHCK, not the UEK. You do NOT NEED THAT.

The "UEK Boot ISO" is used in cases where most of the installation will be done ACROSS A NETWORK. You do NOT NEED THAT.

The Oracle Linux Full ISO does not have Oracle Database, APEX or any other Oracle application preinstalled.

You will ONLY need the Full ISO.

You can use Rufus or BalenaEtcher, pointing to the Oracle Linux Full ISO, to create a bootable USB stick. That stick can be used to install Oracle Linux on a "bare metal" machine.

The CentOS 8.4 DVD ISO is 9.2 GiB. The RHEL 8.4 ISO is about the same size. The Rocky Linux and Alma Linux ISOs are also very similar sized.

There are a LOT of packages in Linux 8 - especially with AppStreams/modularity.