Forum Stats

• 3,826,921 Users
  • 2,260,725 Discussions
  • 7,897,122 Comments

Discussions

Conecting RPD file to BI Publisher

I'm new to this and just need to be pointed in the right direction. Tried to read up on it but no luck..

I created an RPD file in the OBIEE admin tool and now want to use it to build reports in BI Publisher/Answers/Dashboards. (Just like the demos RPD 'Paint' & 'Samples Sales'.) But I can't figure out how to do it because BI Publisher won't read my RPD file- apparently because it only opens 'xdo' files.

What is an xdo file and how is it created? I also read that I can only feed BI Publisher data from an 'xml database'? My physical tables are in a 10g database. What is the usual path/tools for sourcing 10g data making an RDP file and having it read by BI Publisher? Thanks.
Tagged:

Answers

• Hi John,

Follow this link; http://www.oracle.com/technology/obe/obe_bi/bipub/bip_biee/bip_biee.htm

Hopefully this will give you an idea.

Good Luck,

Daan Bakboord
    612389 Member Posts: 165
    Thanks Daan. The tutorial is interesting and will be of use in the future. It doesn't address my current problem though, which is: What is the usual procedure to take data from 10g, transform and restructure it in the ORACLE BI ADMINISTRATION TOOL and then use the data in BI Publisher from the RPD file? The only additional information I can give is that I don't think I have BI Server Installed. I have OC4J. It's a single machine installation.

Can any one steer me in the right direction here?

==============================
    There is also one thing that REALLY puzzles me. Here is the list of the components of OBIEE, shown in the article you provided:

Oracle BI Server
    Oracle BI Answers:
    Oracle BI Interactive Dashboards:
    Oracle BI Delivers:
    Oracle BI Disconnected Analytics:
    Oracle BI Publisher: