I am new to the Discoverer Tool.. Can any one please tell me how
does one go about creating joins of tables in discoverer when
creating a workbook..

Thanks
Pankti
Tagged:

Comments

6399 Member Posts: 3
    You need to create the joins in the Admin edition of Discoverer.

You can't create joins in the User/Plus/Viewer editions. Once
    the joins are created and you have selected the first column to
    include in the workbook, the joined tables will be highlighted.
    44099 Member Posts: 4
    Note: you may also want to create views which contain the
    joined tables and then import the view as a table into Admin.
    You could also use the "custom folder" option to create a view
    in the Admin. module.
    13067 Member Posts: 8
    I just wanted to add that you can create Custom SQL folders in
    the Admin edition. They equate to views and are very flexible
    when you want to create joins between tables where there are no
    FK constraints between two or more tables.
    14728 Member Posts: 633
    Lisa is correct the tool to use for this is the Admin Edition.

Worth adding that when you create your EUL joins will
    be picked up from any foreign key definitions you
    have on your schema for Tables.

If you want to create joins between views however, these
    will have to be manually created in the EUL.

Good Luck.
    512745 Member Posts: 11
    I am new to Discoverer too and i am finding that the un-ability for users of plus to create joins is going to be a BIG problem.

Can someone please tell us WHY? they did it this way?
  • Russ Proudman
    Russ Proudman Member Posts: 2,079
    This is a potentially huge question.

But in a nutshell, before Discoverer, Oracle had a tool that allowed end users to perform joins and then run reports (well their version of a report). Unfortunately, your average end user is not an Oracle technical person and therefore, in my opinion - and like it or not, I've seen it over and again - the end user screws up.