Forum Stats

  • 3,876,103 Users
  • 2,267,060 Discussions
  • 7,912,429 Comments

Discussions

Barcodes in Discoverer Plus?

Uncle Buck
Uncle Buck Member Posts: 138 Blue Ribbon
edited Feb 8, 2019 2:05PM in Discoverer

We are on Discoverer Plus 11g (11.1.1.7.0).

We have a requirement to add a barcode to a particular report for 3 columns that are currently just regular text.  I am not finding much documentation on how to do it, if at all possible.

Can anyone shed some insight or share a link on how to add barcode, barcode font, etc?

Best Answer

  • Uncle Buck
    Uncle Buck Member Posts: 138 Blue Ribbon
    edited Feb 8, 2019 2:05PM Answer ✓

    Actually it is possible, for both Discoverer Desktop and Discoverer Plus.  You just need the correct font in your C:\Windows\Fonts directory of whatever computer you are launching Discoverer, then close all browsers and windows, and relaunch Discoverer.

    The font we used was called SKANDATArC39.  Not sure where we got it.  Another developer on my team found it on an old computer.

    One important thing to note: you need to put an asterisk before and after the data in order for the barcode to show.  So create a calculation like this '*'||TO_CHAR(Return_Number)||'*', and add the calculation to the worksheet as a data column.  The calculation was named "RMA Barcode" which you can see in the bottom image below.

    .font - windows.jpg

    font - Discoverer.jpg

    font - example.jpg

Answers

  • sbeck-Oracle
    sbeck-Oracle Member Posts: 116 Employee
    edited Feb 5, 2019 12:47PM

    Hello,

    It is not possible to use Discoverer to display the actual Bar code in a worksheet.

    Regards,

    Sharon

  • Uncle Buck
    Uncle Buck Member Posts: 138 Blue Ribbon
    edited Feb 5, 2019 4:13PM

    Thank you Sharon,

    So you are 100% sure that bar codes cannot be displayed in Discoverer or Discoverer Plus?  I just want to make sure before I break the news to the business users.

  • sbeck-Oracle
    sbeck-Oracle Member Posts: 116 Employee
    edited Feb 7, 2019 7:20AM

    I am absolutely sure.  Discoverer is a very product. 

    Premier support for Discoverer 11g ended June 2014.  Version 11.1.1.7.0 is the final / terminal release of the Discoverer product.  Discoverer is under sustaining support, which limits our ability to assist you.  Please review the alert section at the bottom of this update.
    Discoverer is at end of life.  Any software update (OS, browser, Java, WLS, EBS, etc.) released after June 2014 has not specifically been certified or tested and may cause issues for Discoverer.  Therefore, it is important to maintain a stable Discoverer environment for as long as it takes to move to OBIEE or other replacement.

     

    *****************************
    * PREMIER SUPPORT END ALERT *
    *****************************
    Please be aware that Premier Support for Fusion Middleware (FMw) 11g R1, of which Discoverer is a component, ended in June 2014.  The last patchset for FMw 11g R1 that contains Discoverer is 11.1.1.7.0 (the terminal version).  According to the Lifetime Support policy Discoverer 11g has already transition to Sustaining Support, which does NOT include code fixes or new certifications.  Extended support ended in June 2017.
    Product Management have released the Statement of Direction for Oracle Business Intelligence Discoverer Tools.  The following note has a link to the document:
              Note 1634827.1 - Oracle Business Intelligence Discoverer Statement of Direction - March 2014
    If you are using Discoverer please ensure you read this document as it contains vital information about:
    ·         Oracle’s Product Strategy         
    ·         Oracle’s Support Policy
    ·         Oracle’s Recommendations to Customers 
    Please also refer to Note 237607.1 - ALERT: Required and Recommended Patch Levels For All Discoverer Versions
    *****************************
    * PREMIER SUPPORT END ALERT *
    *****************************

  • Uncle Buck
    Uncle Buck Member Posts: 138 Blue Ribbon
    edited Feb 7, 2019 8:00AM

    Thank you Sharon.

  • Uncle Buck
    Uncle Buck Member Posts: 138 Blue Ribbon
    edited Feb 8, 2019 2:05PM Answer ✓

    Actually it is possible, for both Discoverer Desktop and Discoverer Plus.  You just need the correct font in your C:\Windows\Fonts directory of whatever computer you are launching Discoverer, then close all browsers and windows, and relaunch Discoverer.

    The font we used was called SKANDATArC39.  Not sure where we got it.  Another developer on my team found it on an old computer.

    One important thing to note: you need to put an asterisk before and after the data in order for the barcode to show.  So create a calculation like this '*'||TO_CHAR(Return_Number)||'*', and add the calculation to the worksheet as a data column.  The calculation was named "RMA Barcode" which you can see in the bottom image below.

    .font - windows.jpg

    font - Discoverer.jpg

    font - example.jpg