Forum Stats

  • 3,836,825 Users
  • 2,262,197 Discussions
  • 7,900,120 Comments

Discussions

OBIEE 12c 12.2.1.1.0 - Sample Application v607 unzip error

Hi, I'm currently having problems while unzipping the SampleAppv607p-appliance.zip.001. I have tried on two windows machines and even with the previous version (OBIEE 11.1.1.9.0 - Sample Application (V506)), but every time I faced the same errors:

I used the checksum and there seems to be nothing wrong with the installation. I've also tried to modify the filename to SampleAppv607p-appliance.zip.001 as presented in a previous solution

https://community.oracle.com/tech/apps-infra/discussion/4005861/downloading-obiee-virtual-ready-machine-fails

but still the same problem occurs.

I hope some of you can help because I'm stucked

Best Answers

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond
    edited Mar 4, 2022 12:00PM Answer ✓

    Your files have the wrong names, rename them to have the currect file names and problem will be solved.

    Is your Windows showing you the file extension of files? Because you maybe believe you did rename files to be <something>.zip.001 , .002, .003 etc. While in reality they are still .001.zip etc.

    By default Windows DO NOT show files extensions for known file types, you have the impression to see the real filename, while you only see part of it.

    User_DYI4R
  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond
    Answer ✓

    SHA1 hash of SampleAppv607p-appliance.ova: 2c9ec1d27cd0a5352668c8dda4fd91221c6b2b2f

    MD5 hash of SampleAppv607p-appliance.ova: db035344497c3c8360948ee4b54e8297


    My OVA has the same size as yours, so check the checksum to see if it's the same and that would confirm the OVA is fine.

    It imported fine in my VirtualBox 6.1 in some minutes.


    You should consider googling your virtualbox error and see if you find something. As the file should be fine, the error doesn't sounds like being connected to the content of the OVA but could be related to your VirtualBox setup or host.

«13

Answers

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond
    edited Mar 4, 2022 12:00PM Answer ✓

    Your files have the wrong names, rename them to have the currect file names and problem will be solved.

    Is your Windows showing you the file extension of files? Because you maybe believe you did rename files to be <something>.zip.001 , .002, .003 etc. While in reality they are still .001.zip etc.

    By default Windows DO NOT show files extensions for known file types, you have the impression to see the real filename, while you only see part of it.

    User_DYI4R
  • User_DYI4R
    User_DYI4R Member Posts: 11 Green Ribbon

    Thank you for the answer, you were right and windows was hiding the real file extension

    Now I tried to run the .ova file on the virtual machine but I have a new error:


    This is the very same error code I had before when I was running the wrongly zipped file. I'm currently using the 6.1 version of the virtual box with the predefined configuration, allocating 6,5 Gb of RAM

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond

    Can't you find some extra logs somewhere? (a log file or whatever)

    That error seem to be quite generic.

    How big is your OVA file? (just checking if all the parts were extracted fully)

  • User_DYI4R
    User_DYI4R Member Posts: 11 Green Ribbon
    edited Mar 4, 2022 2:37PM

    This is my file properties, now I'm running again the image to check if some more specific problems pop up. It stops around 20% (before your help stopped around 9%)

    Edit: now it stopped at 83% setting 8 Gb RAM and setting the flag to generate new MAC adresses

    Not specific error message unfortunately

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond

    The file size is correct, so in theory the file is fine.

    I just run an import on Virtualbox 6.1 to see if things work differently today than years ago when it has been released...

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond
    Answer ✓

    SHA1 hash of SampleAppv607p-appliance.ova: 2c9ec1d27cd0a5352668c8dda4fd91221c6b2b2f

    MD5 hash of SampleAppv607p-appliance.ova: db035344497c3c8360948ee4b54e8297


    My OVA has the same size as yours, so check the checksum to see if it's the same and that would confirm the OVA is fine.

    It imported fine in my VirtualBox 6.1 in some minutes.


    You should consider googling your virtualbox error and see if you find something. As the file should be fine, the error doesn't sounds like being connected to the content of the OVA but could be related to your VirtualBox setup or host.

  • User_DYI4R
    User_DYI4R Member Posts: 11 Green Ribbon

    Sorry, did you keep the default configurations?

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond

    I did a "next next next" kind of import, didn't change anything and only clicked through the screen accepting what I had to accept.

  • User_DYI4R
    User_DYI4R Member Posts: 11 Green Ribbon

    Many thanks for the help, last problem it was me I didn't have enought space to install the vm.

    Now I have another error inside the vm environment while starting the BI:


    NMProcess: WARNING: Bootstrap services are used by OPSS internally and

    clients should never need to directly read/write bootstrap

    credentials. If required, use Wlst or configuration management

    interfaces.

    Node manager started, but cannot connect due to: Error occurred while

    performing nmConnect : Cannot connect to Node Manager. : General

    SSLEngine problem

    Use dumpStack() to view the full stacktrace :

    Unable to connect to NodeManager on host: demo.us.oracle.com, due to

    Error occurred while performing nmConnect : Cannot connect to Node

    Manager. : General SSLEngine problem

    Use dumpStack() to view the full stacktrace :


    Failed to start one or more Servers

  • Gianni Ceresa
    Gianni Ceresa Managing Director | Oracle ACE Director Member Posts: 6,632 Blue Diamond

    The VM is very old (too old), all the internal SSL certificates are expired by now.

    You need to turn off time synchronization and change the VM date back in the past. There is another thread in here covering exactly that, let me see if I can find it.