Forum Stats

• 3,872,599 Users
  • 2,266,457 Discussions
  • 7,911,262 Comments

Discussions

Opportunities ?

843789 Member Posts: 46,655 Green Ribbon
Hi there, everybody.

I was wondering about the opportunities an SCJD exam will provide. I have no professional background as a programmer, but it is a longstanding devoted hobby of mine.
What i like to know is, how difficult or easy is it to get a job as a java programmer with only a certification and no professional background to show.
What else would be counted as experience? Would taking part in a SourceForge Project, be a plus point?

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks ilgo

Comments

I'm in the same case as you, but i think having a certification from sun is always an asset than no having one (if you intend to word as a developper of course). But i think the Sun Certified Web Component Developer is more valuated because it looks like companies use Java mostly to develop web applications.
    In that case, does everybody else use C/C++ for Software development?
    And if so are there any certifications that are equal in value as Sun's SCJD, for other Languages ?

Regards ilgo
    certificates may help you get past the first screening of your resume when applying for a job, but that's as far as it goes (except MAYBE for entry level jobs and internships, where you're not expected to know more than where the powerbutton is and what to do with it).

There are certificates for other languages as well, mostly offered by educational institutes.
    Microsoft and IBM I think have certification programs that contain C++ parts, but those are of course devoted to their own products rather than common standards.
    Well then i am back on square one.

What else is one to do if one wishes to get a job as programmer, lacking professional background, and certifications are of not of much real use?
    do like the rest of us, and start at the bottom of the pile instead of trying for a highend job from the beginning.