Forum Stats

• 3,872,608 Users
  • 2,266,458 Discussions
  • 7,911,263 Comments

Discussions

Computer Program as Project. HELP!!!!

843810 Member Posts: 46,938
edited Feb 9, 2010 10:52AM in Java Desktop Applications
Hey guys. I am a Grade 12 Student and I need to write some sort of educational software for schools. I am thinking of doing a program for grade 3 learners to help them improve their math skills.

Maybe you guys can give me some ideas. It's for my senior year project and I am a little lost. Maybe you guys can give me some advice on the whole "Educational Software" theme.

Any help or ideas will be appreciated.
Thanx a lot!!

Comments

• darrylburke
    darrylburke Member Posts: 18,007
    Maybe you guys can give me some advice
    [_Some advice_|http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/index.html]
    [_Some more advice_|http://catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]

db
    edited Feb 3, 2010 10:12AM
    You might as well start now:

1 - go talk with your grade 3 educators and find what they think would be appropriate.
    2 - draw screens of what you plan on doing (pencil and paper layout) and have OK-ed by the educators
    3 - develop a prototype of the software and have the educators look it over.
    4 - fix things as needed according to educators opinions
    5 - beta test
    6 - make sure all documentation is accurate and up to date
    7 - do final demonstration of your project
    8 - get a sign off that your project has been completed and delivered.

Since you propose to make software from a specific need for your school, you should get the "school" and your target audience involved. The previous is a very simplistic view of what you need to do to get your project developed. Have fun and please take special note of #6.