Forum Stats

• 3,780,922 Users
  • 2,254,456 Discussions
  • 7,879,494 Comments

Discussions

Kerberos TGT From Memory

843810 Member Posts: 46,938
edited Jun 18, 2010 3:49PM in Kerberos & Java GSS (JGSS)
I am rather new to Kerberos. Our workstations when logging in already have a TGT stored in memory.

I have been trying to find a way to pull this information from the memory cache. Is this even possible? If so, where should I begin?

Thanks!

Comments

The Java Krb5LoginModule allows to use the native in-memory Kerberos ticket.

For details refer to the Java GSS programming guide:
    http://java.sun.com/javase/6/docs/technotes/guides/security/jgss/lab/index.html

Seema
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    edited Apr 6, 2007 10:13AM
    I'm still doing something wrong. I have a simple login setup to authenticate. However, it is still prompting for my password.

I got this error:

Kerberos password for <principal>: <password>
    Authentication failed:
    Pre-authentication information was invalid (24) - PREAUTH_FAILED

In my client config
    com.sun.security.auth.module.Krb5LoginModule required
    useTicketCache=true
    principal="<principal>";

I can add doNotPrompt=true

then I get:
    Authentication failed:
    Unable to obtain password from user

Message was edited by:
    jjhusa01
    Here is my debug

Debug is true storeKey false useTicketCache true useKeyTab false doNotPrompt true ticketCache is isInitiator true KeyTab is null refreshKrb5Config is false principal is <principal> tryFirstPass is false useFirstPass is false storePass is false clearPass is false
    Acquire TGT from Cache
    Principal is <principal>
    null credentials from Ticket Cache
    [Krb5LoginModule] authentication failed

Authentication failed:
    I got it working. Apperently, It had to do with encryption. We are using Java 1.5 and it doesn't support AES256. I adjusted it to use Triple DES and it worked fine. However, I cannot read it from the PIPE cache.