Forum Stats

  • 3,724,388 Users
  • 2,244,743 Discussions
  • 7,850,988 Comments

Discussions

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Report Error - ORA-01722 Invalid number - while Sorting the columns -

Lucy Discover
Lucy Discover Member Posts: 279
edited April 2012 in APEX Discussions
I started getting the below error after APEX 4 upgrade. Some of the columns in the reports are Display as text (based on LOV , does not save state) . This reports did not return any error before the upgrade. WE started getting it after APEX was upgraded to version 4.
report error:
ORA-01722: invalid number

Answers

  • DanielB
    DanielB Member Posts: 781
    can you show the query?
  • Lucy Discover
    Lucy Discover Member Posts: 279
    edited April 2012
    Daniel,
    Query as such runs good when I dont enable Sorting feature in Report Attributes. There are 3 or 4 columns in which we are using LOV and these seems to be the culprits. Not enabling Sorting for LOV based display only columns , I dont get the error.

    the SQL is as follows :-

    Edited by: Lucy Discover on Apr 6, 2012 2:26 PM
  • Lucy Discover
    Lucy Discover Member Posts: 279
    edited April 2012
    Residency_code ,
    County,
    road_status,
    Cause_of_restriction
    are the columns which has LOVs. Enabling sorting feature for anyone or all the columns give the report error.

    Edited by: Lucy Discover on Apr 6, 2012 2:27 PM
  • DanielB
    DanielB Member Posts: 781
    are you run this query with the same parameters values on sql? and returns all values?'


    because the error
    can occurs when a condition give datatype error and this problem you can see when retrieve tth values than fail, and this occurs when change the sort order

    try qith this query in sql

    imagine you have a varchar2 column and a number paramter for the query

    when the values of the colum are numbers it's ok, but when a real character is in the field you obtain an error, and this can occurs for the order
    DanielB
  • Lucy Discover
    Lucy Discover Member Posts: 279
    edited April 2012
    The below Code seems to be the reason for the New error that we are getting after APEX 4 upgrade. The same reports seem to run on in APEX 3. can anyone throw light on how to Filter the reports shown below .

    Edited by: Lucy Discover on Apr 6, 2012 2:26 PM
This discussion has been closed.