• 3,784,126 Users
  • 2,254,894 Discussions
  • 7,880,699 Comments

Discussions

Best object for returning a dataset

dorianpc
dorianpc Member Posts: 10
edited May 6, 2014 4:03AM in SQL & PL/SQL

Guys, I use a select statement very often that takes 2 text parameters. What is the most efficient oracle object I can use that will return a dataset taking 2 text parameters?

dorianpc

Best Answer

Answers

• Guys, I use a select statement very often that takes 2 text parameters. What is the most efficient oracle object I can use that will return a dataset taking 2 text parameters?

Return to 'who'?

Why do you need an 'object'?

Why can't you just return a result set?

Give us an example of what you are trying to do.

• dorianpc

sorry I am a newbie...i have a habit of calling everything in oracle a object 

I do want to return a dataset from a query like this....select * from tableA where columnA like '%parameter1%' and columnB = 'parameter2'

I run this query frequently and I wanted to build a function or something that takes those 2 parameters and would be effective.

• Again - return to 'who'?

You don't need a function. Just execute the query in sql plus and use substitution variables:

SQL> set serveroutput on
    SQL> select * from emp where deptno = &a;
    Enter value for a: 20
    old   1: select * from emp where deptno = &a
    new   1: select * from emp where deptno = 20

Put that query above in a file on your machine and then just execute the file in sql*plus

SQL>@myFile

Or use Oracle's FREE Sql Developer

http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/developer-tools/sql-developer/downloads/index.html?ssSourceSiteId=otnpt

You can easily create a custom 'report' that is just that query and it will prompt you for values when you execute it.

• kendenny
    kendenny Member Posts: 1,269