• 3,875,465 Users
  • 2,266,926 Discussions
  • 7,912,225 Comments

Discussions

Eclipse does not recognize "Default Method keyword" and "Lamda expression"

Nhuy Van
Nhuy Van Member Posts: 13
edited Jun 10, 2014 11:37PM in New To Java

Hi guys, I just started learning Java, so I don't know much about it. I have this very annoying issue with Eclipse (I have the latest version installed). For some reason, every time I use the "default" keyword in an interface, it gives me an error similar to "Syntax error on token default",  I deleted the "default" keyword, the error is gone. The same thing happens with "Lamda expression as well", say I have this object like this Actions myActions = () -> {System.out.print("Blah blah blah");};   , Eclipse also displays the error message similar to "Method body expected after (), delete '->' ". I checked the Java version I have, it is the latest one also, I don't know what it's wrong here, any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your time and help.

Best Answer

•   It happened because I used the command-line tool rather than running it using Eclipse. The two image links above show the errors in Eclipse.

No - it happened for the reasons I said:

There IS NO variable called 'AnimalName' in that interface - that is the problem: not the word 'default'.

You can't refer to objects that don't exist.

That interface code won't compile from the command line or from within an IDE because it has ERRORS.

public interface Actions{

void eat();

default void run() {

System.out.println(AnimalName + " can run 10 miles without stopping!!!");

}

}

Where do you expect Java to get the value of 'AnimalName' from? It doesn't exist anywhere. You define it in another class like this:

public String AnimalName;

That means it is an 'instance' variable. You can't refer to instance variables except in the context of an 'instance'. The interface has NO instance of Animal.

Answers

• gimbal2