• 3,741,452 Users
  • 2,248,430 Discussions
  • 7,861,817 Comments

Discussions

Literature on PL/SQL testing

user2081233
user2081233 Member Posts: 21
edited Jun 4, 2014 9:29AM in SQL & PL/SQL

Can someone give some links to good literature how to do PL/SQL unit testing?

And general PL/SQL testing?

I am new to the field and would like to create unit tests for my procedures. As it is not common practice in my current workplace I need to learn from a literature.

Tagged:

Answers

• BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 41,102 Red Diamond

I guess you haven't done a course or training in computer/software engineering then?

So, what do you think would be involved in unit testing some code?  What does it mean to you?

• carajandb
    carajandb Member Posts: 260 Bronze Badge

Steven Feuerstein has written a Tool called Code Tester for Toad. Guess he has documented it and there are some videos about it on Youtube.

• Martin Preiss
    Martin Preiss Member Posts: 2,381 Gold Trophy

there is also a nice unit testing framework included into sql developer: Unit Testing with SQL Developer

• user2081233

I have done also formal course on testing in university.

The problem with SQL is that it differs as there is a lot of stored data.

You can write different insert into, but it is not fun task if your procedure uses select over 5 tables.

It would be nice if someone could provide with some links. I googled, but didn't find very good examples.

Unit Testing Stored Procedures is good basics, but don't explain much in detail.

• BluShadow
    BluShadow Member, Moderator Posts: 41,102 Red Diamond

Well, unit testing isn't about being "fun" (I know, I do lots of it, and it's my least favourite part of development)

Unit testing is about testing all possible inputs to a single unit of code to ensure that all outputs or resultant actions are as expected, including input you expect to get (positive test) and input that you don't expect (negative test)

• user2081233