• 3,876,074 Users
  • 2,267,056 Discussions
  • 7,912,419 Comments

Discussions

ClassNotFoundException in sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver

2695041 Member Posts: 1
edited Jun 18, 2014 7:37AM in New To Java

Hi Experts,

I am new to Java Programming..and trying to learn the nuances of the language from industry experts...

As a beginner in JDBC programming, I am trying to establish a simple connection to the MS Access DB (2007) from my app...but all I am getting is Exceptions...ClassNotFoundException and SQLException (no suitable drivers)...??

I have my classpath variable set to the  JRE lib ...

Code::-

import java.sql.*;

import java.lang.Class.*;

class sample {

String  url;

Connection con;

sample(){

try{

Class.forName("sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver");

url = "jdbc:odbc:;Driver={Microsoft Access Driver (*.accdb)}; DBQ=C:\\Program Files\\Java\\mandeep\\newdata.accdb";

con = DriverManager.getConnection(url);

System.out.println("connection established");

}

catch(Exception e){

System.out.println(e.getCause().getMessage());

}

}

public static void main (String[] args) throws Exception {

sample s = new sample();

}

}

PLEASE HELP!!

Mandeep

Answers

• Wrong forum!

JDBC questions should be posted in the JDBC forum. Please mark this question ANSWERED and repost there.

https://community.oracle.com/community/developer/english/java/database_connectivity/java_database_connectivity_(jdbc)

Class not found generally means just that: there is NO such class anywhere on the classpath or in any of the jars in the classpath.

• jwenting
    jwenting Member Posts: 4,864 Gold Badge

except that this is an internal class to the standard API...

A class that's been marked as "don't use" for the last decade or so...

It is there in Java7, don't have 8 installed here so can't check if it was at last removed.

It might also not be there on non-Windows JVMs, as it makes no sense to have an ODBC-JDBC bridge driver on platforms on which ODBC does not exist.