Forum Stats

• 3,752,058 Users
  • 2,250,452 Discussions
  • 7,867,705 Comments

Discussions

Take Java 7 Certification exams now or wait for Java 8 certs?

2781759 Member Posts: 2

Hello,

As Java 8 Certification is now available in Beta (which means the 'actual' Java 8 Cert should/would be available anytime soon after), I am wondering whether I should wait for that to become available and take that OR

... Proceed with Java 7 Cert. now?

I've been training up my Java skills for a few months now and I feel I am now ready to proceed with the OACJP I Exam.

But it would still probably take me 1 Year to achieve the full Java 7 Cert (another few more months for OCPJP II) - and by then Java 8 would then be available - and I don't want to take the upgrade exam straight after as that would feel I've wasted my time or so.

What's my ideal course of progression you reckon?

Opinions welcome.

Thanks,

Answers

• jwenting
    jwenting Member Posts: 4,863

Why do you want the certification?

What are you actually using?

TBH the certification itself isn't worth much. The knowledge gained studying for it however is quite valuable.

If you're not going to be using Java8 in the foreseeable future (if ever) there's no reason to learn its specifics.

If you're using Java7 a lot, learning the ins and outs of that is far more beneficial to you.

If you're using Java7 and want to move to Java8, the things you learn studying for the exam can be very valuable for you.

But don't place too much emphasis on that piece of paper (or plastic card, whatever you get these days).

I've not had an employer ask for it in the decade I've been certified. And by now I no longer remember my login to the certification site (if it still has the data, they've switched suppliers several times...).

2781759 Member Posts: 2