Forum Stats

• 3,853,824 Users
  • 2,264,280 Discussions
  • 7,905,459 Comments

Discussions

Can you write simple Java code in a UNIX function and run it? See example....

966239 Member Posts: 27
edited Apr 1, 2015 3:41PM in New To Java

Hi,

I'm new to Java and I have a question.

Is there any possible way a simple script like the below would work in a UNIX function called from a shell script. I know you're not supposed to do this but can you?

Thanks in advance,

javatst() {
   $JAVA_HOME/bin/java  <<- _java
  public class HelloWorld { 
  public static void main(String[] args) { 
  System.out.println("Hello, World");
  }
  }
  _java
}

javatst

Answers

• PhHein
    PhHein Member, Moderator Posts: 7,245 Silver Trophy
    edited Feb 18, 2015 6:46AM

MOD: moved from JDBC

edited Feb 19, 2015 1:10PM

Could you elaborate please?

• TPD-Opitz
    TPD-Opitz Member Posts: 2,465 Silver Trophy
    edited Feb 19, 2015 3:50PM

No.

Java is no scripting language.

You need to translate the java source code to the intermediate language which is in turn interpreted by the Java Virtual Machine (JVM) at execution time.

The java compiler which does the translation from source code to IL code works with files in your file system. You cannot pass in a stream to be compiled. (at leest the existing implementations I know of).

So your shell script must write the code into a *.java file (with the exact same name as the class), pass that file to the javac executable and after that it could run the JVM (the java executable) with the resulting *.class file as parameter.

Step 1 and 2 are better done within a Java IDE.

bye

TPD

edited Feb 20, 2015 12:49PM