On January 27th, this site will be read-only as we migrate to Oracle Forums for an improved community experience. You will not be able to initiate activity until January 30th, when you will be able to use this site as normal.

    Forum Stats

  • 3,889,626 Users
  • 2,269,768 Discussions
  • 7,916,798 Comments

Discussions

Proxy client (over USB connection) with DHCP assigned IP address doesn't work with FRDM-K64F

20378
20378 Director Partner EnablementMember Posts: 577
edited Feb 26, 2015 11:39AM in Java ME Embedded

Hello,

after reading about the issues on this forum with a static IP address on the Freescale FRDM-K64F board I went for an DHCP address but I can't get the proxy client to work over a USB connection with DHCP either.

My console tells me the following:

RTC Time: Wed 2014-01-01 00:07:27

Network initialized

IP Address:      10.143.xxx.yyy (xxx and yyy is real numbers, just changing them for the forum to letters)

Subnet mask:     255.255.252.0

Gateway:         10.143.xxx.yyy

MAC-address:     00:0c:00:06:70:00

And when I try o to connect with the following command :

java -jar proxy.jar -socket 10.143.xxx.yyy

I get the following output and no CLI interface:

Trying to open socket connection with device: 10.143.xxx.yyy:2201

Connected to the socket: Socket[addr=/10.143.xxx.yyy,port=2201,localport=49605]

Open channel 8 with hash 0x130399b3

Channel 8 CLOSED -> OPENED

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 OPENED -> AVAILABLE

Open channel 9 with hash 0x0

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

Channel 8 AVAILABLE -> REQUEST_SENT

notifyResponse ACK_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 REQUEST_SENT -> ACKNOWLEDGED

Channel 8 ACKNOWLEDGED -> DATA_SENT

notifyResponse AVAILABLE_RESPONSE on channel 8

Channel 8 DATA_SENT -> AVAILABLE

I don't know if this matter but my java version is:

java version "1.8.0_31"

Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_31-b13)

Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.31-b07, mixed mode)

Any ideas or am I missing something completely?

Thanks

Andy

Best Answer

Answers

  • 2892292
    2892292 Member Posts: 7
    edited Feb 26, 2015 3:15AM

    Hi, Andy. Please excuse my ignorance, I am very new at this ME embedded stuff. I had my challenges, but was finally able to get my board up with a static address. I went through a lot of headaches, but finally got the board flashed with the latest bin. I then updated the jwc_properties.ini file on the SD card to include:

    # Whether static configuration or DHCP server is used do get IP address. Possible values: dhcp,static

    ip.method = static

    # IP address,used with static IP configuration only

    ip.addr = 192.168.0.30

    # Network mask,used with static IP configuration only

    ip.netmask = 255.255.255.0

    # Network gateway,used with static IP configuration only

    ip.gateway = 192.168.0.1

    # DNS server,used with static IP configuration only

    ip.dns = 208.67.222.222

    # MAC address

    mac.addr = 01:02:03:04:05:06

    I was then put the card into the board, disconnected both USB cables, and then powered it up. From that point I was able to ping the board. I can now use Device Manager in NetBeans to connect to the device.

    I am struggling quite a bit with many issues. It seems that when I try to stop the app from NetBeans, the "please wait" dialog hangs forever. I have to use Windows Task Manager to kill the "JavaW" process tree and reconnect the board.

    I have also had trouble understanding the GPIO pin assignments. Another gotcha was trying to use the AutoStart feature. Since the sample app never cleanly exited, I thought that I bricked the board. The secret is to power it down, remove the SD card, and then delete all files EXCEPT the jwc_properties.ini file, put the SD card back in, then power up. It seems that the board forgets that the MIDlet was installed.

    Hope this helps others out there.

    Please everybody, post your experiences here. There seem to be very few of us, and finding pearls in the dust is rare right now.

    Regards,

    Pete

  • Sergey.N-Oracle
    Sergey.N-Oracle Member Posts: 99
    edited Feb 26, 2015 4:10AM Answer ✓

    Hi Andy,

    your log shows that proxy is connected with board.  To start CLI you can either provide "-i" key at proxy command line or just connect putty to localhost (raw protocol, port 65002)

    /Sergey

  • Sergey.N-Oracle
    Sergey.N-Oracle Member Posts: 99
    edited Feb 26, 2015 4:19AM

    Hi Pete,

    here is a clue about pin assignment: port [A .. E] equals to controllerNumber [0...4], accepted pin numbers are [0...31]. To see what pin is available through sockets you need either read the board manual or check its schematic.

    Buttons are accessible  by theirs name "sw2" and "sw3", as well as RGB led ["led1", "led2" and "led3" for red, green and blue part or RGB led]

    /Sergey

  • Sergey.N-Oracle
    Sergey.N-Oracle Member Posts: 99
    edited Feb 26, 2015 4:20AM

    Hi Pete,

    regarding dialog hang. Have you updated Netbeans plugins as well?

    /Sergey

  • 2892292
    2892292 Member Posts: 7
    edited Feb 26, 2015 11:39AM

    Thanks, Sergey! That is a great help!

    Pete

  • 2892292
    2892292 Member Posts: 7
    edited Feb 26, 2015 11:39AM

    Hi, Sergey! I will give it a try. It may have something to do with me running Windows 7 Pro under VMware Fusion on a Mac.

    Pete

This discussion has been closed.