• 3,826,051 Users
  • 2,260,592 Discussions
  • 7,896,781 Comments

Discussions

PHP OCI8 install solaris 11.2

pans_soul
pans_soul Member Posts: 9
edited Aug 12, 2015 8:11AM in PHP

I am a solaris sysadmin trying to assist a developer in getting PHP to connect to an existing Oracle 12c database. Initial research indicated I should start by installing OIC (oracle instant client?) which I did using the IPS solaris studio repository and solaris studio 12.3. This installed a directory in /opt/solarisstudio12.3/OIC but I dont necessarily see any library files in there. The next instruction seems to indicate I should configure PHP to include/install the oci8 extension but the configure command seems to be pretty outdated (./configure --with-oci8=shared,instantclient,/path/to/instant/client/lib) or I'm unable to find the path to the library files. There is a php-config command in the native version of php installed on solaris 11.2 so maybe that should be used but I'm not sure. The developer is using the following command as a measure of success:

# php -r "var_dump(function_exists('oci_connect'));"

bool(false)

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Answers

• Christopher Jones-Oracle
    Christopher Jones-Oracle Member Posts: 1,648 Employee
    edited Jul 21, 2015 7:58AM

Does anything in the chapter "INSTALLING PHP AND APACHE ON ORACLE SOLARIS" in http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/topics/php/underground-php-oracle-manual-098250.html help?

pans_soul
  • pans_soul
    pans_soul Member Posts: 9
    edited Aug 3, 2015 11:19AM

Thanks, It was helpful in some sense but I still had to do some digging to come up with a working oci8. It did help in confirming which additional packages ie... system/headers were needed as pre-install steps. Also with the system variable settings (LD_LIBRARY_PATH) etc...