Forum Stats

• 3,759,181 Users
  • 2,251,510 Discussions
  • 7,870,526 Comments

Discussions

What is wrong with this PL/SQL code, and how to debug it in Apex?

DannyS-Oracle
DannyS-Oracle Member Posts: 165
edited Aug 5, 2016 12:30PM in APEX Discussions

Hi guys, I am fairly new in Apex and still struggling on some basic things like debugging this PL/SQL procedure. Hopefully someone can help me on this:

I made this PL/SQL procedure to do some insert operations by looping through another table's records:

DECLARE    l_test_id number := :P5_ID;    l_test_type varchar2(50) := :P5_TEST_TYPE;    CURSOR c_criteria is      SELECT ID FROM DR_APP_TABLETOP_CRITERIA;BEGIN     IF l_test_type = 'Tabletop' THEN        FOR r_criteria IN c_criteria         LOOP            INSERT INTO DR_APP_TABLETOP_WORKBOOK(ID_TEST, ID_CRITERIA)            VALUES (l_test_id, r_criteria.ID);        END LOOP;        COMMIT;    END IF;END;

There is no error on the Apex debugger, but the INSERT operations never happened. Does anyone notice error in this code? Or, can someone teach me on how to print simple log message on the debugger? Something like "System.out.println()" in Java - so I can debug the PL/SQL easier. Surprisingly this thing is not easy to find on the Internet: I tried DBMS_OUTPUT and APEX_DEBUG functions but got no luck - probably I was doing it wrong .... Any help will be appreciated!

In case you wonder, I used Apex v5.0.4.

Thank you!

Tagged:
Scott WesleyPMONMahmoud_RabieBharat GDannyS-Oracle

Best Answer

• Bharat G
    Bharat G Member Posts: 490 Bronze Badge
    edited Aug 5, 2016 12:59AM Accepted Answer

Hi ,

Here three things we need to make sure:

1. SELECT ID FROM DR_APP_TABLETOP_CRITERIA;
    2. IF l_test_type = 'Tabletop' THEN
    3. Does APEX is running on which schema and does this schema having these two tables permissions ?

In the first one, are we having records ?