• 2,260,707 Discussions
  • 7,897,072 Comments

Discussions

remove ";" at end of String not working

goodluck247
goodluck247 Member Posts: 335
edited Dec 1, 2016 2:40PM in Java Programming

Hello all,

I am new to Java. I have a simple Java program which selects text from an Oracle database table (a Varchar2 column), then prints it to a file.

Here's an extract from the code:

import Java.lang.*;

String recom = null;

String recomf = null;

query = "select recom from recom_logic where labno = " + labno;

rs1 = stmt1.executeQuery(query);

while (rs1.next()){

recom = rs1.getString("RECOM");

}

if (recom.endsWith(";")){

recomf = recom.substring(0, recom.length() - 1);

}

the program then goes on to print the data...

the program compiles successfully.

HOWEVER, when running the program, it gives the following error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException

I understand it has something to do with my String vars. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

goodluck247rpc1

Best Answer

• rpc1
    rpc1 Member Posts: 1,503
    edited Nov 28, 2016 1:38PM Answer ✓

import Java.lang.*;

String recom = null;

String recomf = null;

while (rs1.next()){

}

//you need check recom

if ((recom!=null)&&(recom.endsWith(";"))){

}

why your if statement out while ?

In your code you will get only last  row

Answers

• rpc1
    edited Nov 28, 2016 1:38PM Answer ✓

import Java.lang.*;

String recom = null;

String recomf = null;

while (rs1.next()){

}

//you need check recom

}

why your if statement out while ?

In your code you will get only last  row

• goodluck247
    edited Nov 28, 2016 2:21PM

rpc1, it's a part of code,
    this while loop in within a bigger while loop (while rs.next), so it was specifically disigned like that.

thanks

• goodluck247
    edited Nov 28, 2016 2:30PM

rpc1, thanks for this:

//you need check recom

}

I get it now.

• Unknown
    edited Nov 28, 2016 3:32PM