• 2,245,431 Discussions
  • 7,852,906 Comments

Discussions

Graphing and GUIs

Chamat
Chamat Member Posts: 1
edited June 2017 in New To Java

Hi,

I have an assignment that requires me to graph some functions.
I'm new to Java, and getting a GUI setup is rather challenging as I don't know how to set up anything except for a Jframe, and some shapes.

I'd like some direction as to where to begin to setup an x/y axis, and graphing a curved function (as opposed to drawLine method from the Graphics library).

If it helps, this is what I'm trying to accomplish

Thingamajigger.jpg

I don't even know where to look for the information on how to complete this, so anything is appreciated.

Answers

• Unknown
    edited May 2017
    Thingamajigger.jpg

I don't even know where to look for the information on how to complete this, so anything is appreciated.

The Java Tutorials has several trails about how to use the 2D graphics functionality

https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/2d/geometry/arbitrary.html

Drawing Arbitrary Shapes

You have already learned how to draw most of shapes represented in the java.awt.geom package. To create more complicated geometry, such as polygons, polylines, or stars you use another class from this package, GeneralPath.

As your own 'problem statement' says you will have to compute the 'n' end points of the lines you need (typically into an array) and then loop thru the array drawing each line segment.

Complex shapes are drawn as a series of connected line segments.

You should be able to find PLENTY of other examples on the web.

• morgalr
    morgalr Member Posts: 457
    edited June 2017

I know this is too late for the person that just dumped this in the forum and left, but if you ever hope of finishing a programming class and possibly ever becoming a programmer you have to learn how to do an analysis of the problem.  Everything is given in the problem on how to set things up.