Forum Stats

• 3,838,514 Users
  • 2,262,378 Discussions
  • 7,900,678 Comments

Discussions

how to fit toolbar according to the screen resolution?

3463663 Member Posts: 7
edited May 17, 2017 6:06PM in JavaFX 2.0 and Later

hello friends,  I am new in the javafx development programming. I am developing the one desktop application for my company. My problem is how I fit the toolbar according to the screen resolution.

I take the following screen picture.

1) in 1366*768

pastedImage_0.png

2)  in 1280*768

pastedImage_1.png

3) in 1280*720

pastedImage_2.png

4) in 1280*600

pastedImage_3.png

5) in 1024*768

pastedImage_4.png

6) in 800*600

pastedImage_5.png

look the 5 and 6 condition the full toolbar not showing. so the question is how to write the code in such way that in any screen resolution my toolbar shows all the text...

bouye-JavaNet

Answers

• bouye-JavaNet
    bouye-JavaNet Member Posts: 394 Silver Badge
    edited May 16, 2017 7:24PM

I think you would need to create a new class that extends ToolBarSkin (remember skins will be public in JDK 9 and are currently private but accessible in JDK 8) so it behaves more like the TabPane header in case of overflow (which dispay a control button with a popup menu that list all tabs).

JDK8 source code for ToolBarSkin

JDK8 source code for TabPaneSkin (check inner class TabHeaderArea)

Also check on the JDK bug system has already a RFE for that and if not create it on the java bug page (it's too late for any JDK9 change BTW).

3463663 Member Posts: 7
    edited May 17, 2017 2:07AM

Thanks for the reply. can you give any example for same..

• jsmith
    jsmith Member Posts: 2,856
    edited May 17, 2017 4:47PM

> so it behaves more like the TabPane header in case of overflow (which dispay a control button with a popup menu that list all tabs)

That is the default behavior of a ToolBar