• 2,252,991 Discussions
  • 7,875,117 Comments

Discussions

Performance tuning for tables without indexes

4fcc5f03-2cb2-49a2-9716-55327ad4fa8c
edited Aug 2, 2017 3:13PM in SQL & PL/SQL

Hello All,

I am a newbie in performance tuning. I am facing following issue:

1. I have main table with around 300K records, this table has no constraints or indexes (client is reluctant to add any).

2. I have staging table which receives around 10-15K records every 3 hours and I have to insert and/or update these in main table.

3. I can not use MERGE as they have data issues and client is not ready to change the data so I have to modify the logic from MERGE to Insert-Update.

4. I tried following ways but both took more than 60 minutes.

Update main_table m

set (column list) = (select column_list from staging s where m.id = s.id) ;

Update main_table m

set (column list) = (select column_list from staging s where m.id = s.id)  where exists (select 1 from staging s where s.id = m.id); /* Added exists clause to get records present in staging table only */

I am on Oracle 12.1.0.2

Can you please help me to get out of this?

LazarGary_A

Answers

• John Thorton
    John Thorton Member Posts: 14,493 Silver Crown
    edited Aug 2, 2017 10:50AM