Forum Stats

• 3,727,659 Users
  • 2,245,434 Discussions
  • 7,852,908 Comments

Discussions

In Java, is a Constructor also a Method?

23bdeef9-6541-4b66-b2dd-61c3c308bbbb
edited October 2017 in New To Java

Looking at Oracle's definition of a Method it states that it needs the 6 components, including a return type. https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/java/javaOO/methods.html

Additionally Oracle's definition of a Constructor states in the second sentence that they "look like methods", doesn't state that they are. https://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/java/javaOO/constructors.html

I've been told both throughout my time using Java and school. I'm not a beginner to say in Java, but this question should be an essential to the language when it comes to documentation/specifications.

I'm just looking for technical information to back either or.

eudriscabrera-JavaNet

Answers

• morgalr
    morgalr Member Posts: 457
    edited October 2017

No, and yes.  Here is a very simple way of looking at it that will help illuminate the differences:

methods have the signature:

<public> <static> [void | return type] MethodName(<parameter list>)

Constructors have the signature:

<public> <static> ClassName(<parameter list>)

very similar to a method, but not.  Constructors are also called during the instantiation of your class to tell Java how to build your Object., your methods need to be called after instantiation of the Object from your class.

• Unknown
    edited October 2017

No.

I've been told both throughout my time using Java and school.

Huh? What, exactly, have you 'been told'?

but this question should be an essential to the language when it comes to documentation/specifications.

And so it is.

I'm just looking for technical information to back either or.

Have you ever heard the expression 'be careful what you ask for'?

The 'bible' for technical info about Java is The Java Language Specification

https://docs.oracle.com/javase/specs/jls/se7/html/jls-8.html