Forum Stats

• 3,727,646 Users
  • 2,245,430 Discussions
  • 7,852,906 Comments

Discussions

Help understanding the right code approach/structure to use in Java

16fd4af4-4663-4c79-94f6-f9f5812ee077
edited October 2017 in New To Java

I'm just getting started learning Java. I'm working on a simple console game to learn as I go, and I'd like to get a better understanding of how I should structure my code (see below).

So far, I've just been writing it in a linear fashion as I logically think through each step, but I suspect this is not the right way to proceed in Java. I get the feeling that I should be splitting my code into various classes, objects, methods, etc?

How would you structure the below code (keeping in mind I'm a beginner, so simple is better.)?

Eg should I create a separate class/object for character and use that to set/store the name, race, & stats?

Then create classes, constructors, and methods for each of the game actions? Eg a class and object for Beer, and a drink method.