Forum Stats

  • 3,872,069 Users
  • 2,266,376 Discussions
  • 7,911,043 Comments

Discussions

Multiple buttons in one column

Schuriik
Schuriik Member Posts: 64
edited Nov 16, 2017 10:14PM in APEX Discussions

Hi community,

I have created multiple page buttons. Is it possible to place these buttons into one column of a report?

Regards

Alex

Schuriik

Best Answer

Answers

  • Scott Wesley
    Scott Wesley Member Posts: 6,269 Gold Crown
    edited Nov 15, 2017 3:20AM Answer ✓
  • Pavan Badi
    Pavan Badi Member Posts: 27 Red Ribbon
    edited Nov 15, 2017 3:28AM

    Hi,

    You can use html directly into to sql report query to get multiple buttons like below,

    select

    '<input type="button" value="Button 1">'||'<input type="button" value="Button 2">'||

    from dual;

    Schuriik
  • Tim Halbach
    Tim Halbach Member Posts: 70 Red Ribbon
    edited Nov 15, 2017 3:53AM

    Hi Schuriik,

    here is an example and a package of what you can use to render a button in a report as simple as possible.

    https://thalbachdevelop.blogspot.de/2017/02/apex-rendering-button-in-report-column.html

    The post from Scott was my ambition to render the button into the report.

    You should also read Scott's post to understand the mechanics behind it.

    If you have multiple buttons you can concatinate them into a sql query.

    e.q.

    Select

    thdevelop_util_pkg.apex_item_button(p_item_label     => 'FIRST_BUTTON',

                                  p_item_id     => 'first_button'

                                 ) ||

    thdevelop_util_pkg.apex_item_button(p_item_label     => 'SECOND_BUTTON',

                                  p_item_id     => 'second_button'

                                 );

    from dual;

    then you have to set on the coloumn security Escape special character to no.

    Regards Tim

    SchuriikSchuriik
  • Schuriik
    Schuriik Member Posts: 64
    edited Nov 15, 2017 8:57AM

    Hi Scott, one more question: I created 2 buttons in the SQL report with following code: "'<a data-id="#ID#" class="test t-Button" </a>Start' || ..."

    Now I want to save the ID of the row in my item P1_TEST via javascript like shown in your example:  $s('P1_TEST', $(this.triggeringElement).data('id'));

    But afterwards the value of P1_TEST is always "#ID#", no matter which row I click. Can you tell me how I can get the right ID?

    When I create a button with link like shown in your example its working fine and I get the right ID of every row. But that way I cant create 2 buttons in 1 column.

  • Scott Wesley
    Scott Wesley Member Posts: 6,269 Gold Crown
    edited Nov 16, 2017 10:14PM

    #ID# must be the alias of a column in your report.

    Check that

    a) you have such a column

    b) it's not conditionally hidden

This discussion has been closed.